Painting video of "Angel and Devil"

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Pinup12Thumb.jpg


This is an illustration of a meeting between an angel and a devil, where I recorded the process.
It's speeded up a bit, I'm narrating the process over the top. It's about 35 minutes long.
I used some free Gamelan music in the background, mainly to fill in the silent spaces, and to mask some clicks and pops of the mic.
Here's the final painting.

Pinup12Lo.jpg

Hope you like it, let me know what you think!

.

My name is Steven Stahlberg, I joined Steemit in December 2017. I was born in Australia, grew up in Sweden, but now live with my wife in Kuala Lumpur. I've lived here about nine years so far, and love it!
I work as a lead artist in a game company here. My two sons live in Sweden. I'm working on a graphic novel in my spare time. I use an older version of Photoshop with a Wacom Intuos 3, larger size.
I do self-upvote, but I wait so I'm not the first. I don't buy votes. Thanks for watching!

Links to some of my other art:
SquichyThumb.jpg

TeaAndRosesThumb.jpg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh my, this is stunning! I really like the lens blur, and depth of focus. And totally love the opposing angel/demon aesthetic you used.

I'm going to have to come back and watch the video when I've got a few spare moments to sit and give it my full attention, because I'm definitely interested in seeing the process.

Thank you! haha yes I know the feeling about watching videos, I always hesitate to start because they seem to take so much time... but feel free to jump through it when it gets tedious. Maybe I should edit down a condensed version of every video. :)

WOW! Fantastic piece! Very clever how you turned the demon into an angelic looking creature, and the Angel into a more demonic and menacing kind of being. I also love the angel's halo concept - reminds me a little of the StarGate portal.

huge Kudos!

I saw the 35-minute video and my first thought was, no way am I watching this. I was wrong, I'm watching it now and it's fascinating. I am a digital painter too and this video is educational for me.

I'm laughing because I'm at the moment that you are talking about nipples. I agree, we Americans have a strange fascination with the female nipple. Have you seen the photos where they pasted an image of male nipples on a female breast? Hilarious.

I'm a fan of your work. Thanks for sharing your process and thinking behind the painting.

Thank you!
lol yes it's true, I forgot to mention how I've been temp-banned (3 days) from Facebook 3 times. XD
Even though their own rule is to allow nipples and such in art, but not in photos... I guess some of my art triggers their algorithm :)

You are very talented and I like your paintings. You really make me want to start looking for my Wacom :D

Thanks! lol you lost it?

Sadly no, I've put it somewhere at work and then lack of time happened. I know where it is, it's the time that I miss! :)

hehe same with my guitar.......
and my drum set........
and my Japanese language book......

I love the left part of the painting the most. Beautiful body ;) and the detail with unsharpen flowers in the front as a camera focus effect

I like it very much this painting!, the colors are very great how the contrast of the angel and the devil highlight each others, and how you moved the painting center to the upleft part of the draw.. really cool! bye bro!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Stahlberg from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Whatever thoughts are going through his head must be pretty hot...

Great stuff!

fantastic to see the proces!
But i could do without the Gamalan music ;-)

Yeah I don't like it either, I will get rid of it on my next video. :)

I think you really master perspectives and colors! Such beautiful paintings :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.93
ETH 3441.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63