✏️ Art Project: Paper Mache Clay.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Ingredients.png
Ingredients include 1 roll of 2-ply toilet paper, soaked in (preferably hot) water, broken up and wrung out. Should equate to 1 cup of paper mush, mixed with 1 cup of joint compound, 3/4th cup of white glue (elmer's is what I used), 1 cup of flower (half at the start, half while you're mixing to thicken it up), and two tablespoons of mineral oil (baby oil). Should turn out like cookie dough, the glue and joint compound mixture should provide enough moisture for clay.

🦎 So, I'm in the process of experimenting with this recipe in trying to create a prototype for a reptile hide (something the lizard would hide in). I first made the clay, but didn't take quite enough step-by-step photos ... and mine came out more like a wet bread dough than cookie dough. I messed up my measurements while I was making it, adding in a bit too much water or glue. The above (in code) is the correct recipe, though you can adjust it however you want.

Since I lack access to Foamular / some type of rigid foam, I'm recycling some boxes and cardboard (wrapping it with masking tape), and then applying the clay. It's an interesting, engaging project to past time. I plan to create a business with a friend of mine to create sculptures, paintings, and reptile/animal hides for terrariums/vivariums.

This is what I have so far - Taped cardboard on the left, progress with the paper mache clay:
Hide Prototype.png


All content on this blog is 100% @silverintent, whether drawn or written.
All non original content is linked to it’s source when it is used.

Follow me on Steemit at @Silverintent!

Sort:  

Great quality in photography I love them

@silverintent

Ah, thanks! :0!

ooo interesting project

Congratulations @silverintent! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44