Premonition - Action Painting [13th ARTstyleART Contest]

in #art7 years ago

IMG_7050_Fotor.jpg

Dear Actionists,

following the invitation of @aksinya (which she made in this post), here comes my entry of an action-painting I did with acrylic paint on cardboard yesterday evening.

Here are some details:


The Music

I started by painting the cardboard using black acryls.
The music, I was listening to, was one of my favorite Jazz albums from the Swedish jazz pianist Esbjörn Svensson, who sadly died in 2008 during a scuba diving session way too early. I basically started listening from 1:17 min with a song called "Premonition I. Earth", which is the first song at the vinyl album.

Here is the whole album at youtube:

Esbjörn Svensson Trio - Leucocyte

The process

You can see that I started dripping basic colors like red, blue, yellow and green on the black background.


Then I got this blurry colored background.
And even more colors.

After that I smudged the colors using a brush.


And started dripping colors again:

Until the song ended and I had this colorful painting!

Here it is again in full glory:


IMG_7050_Fotor.jpg

"Premonition", Acrylic on cardboard (2017), approx. 110 x 68 cm (43 x 27 inch)

Hope you like it - Thanks for watching!


@shortcut

Sort:  

Cool stuff. Thanks for putting us onto Svensson, this album is delicious. Do you know exactly what happened at that scubba dive session? That's a weird way to go.

Thanks, I love this album so much! There is some information about the accident in his wiki-article. That's all I know. He just died too early...

Das soll jetzt dein Endprodukt definitiv nicht schlecht machen, das sieht klasse aus! Aber ich hätte mir Schritt eins glaub ohne zu grübeln in die Bude gehängt :D

Ja, die erste Version fand ich auch schon ganz gut, aber vielleicht war mir das zu einfach. Außerdem war das Lied noch nicht zu Ende... ;-)

Amazing!

Thank you :-)

I still look at it and impress. thank you for the process details I want to try it too. I really like the result.

I can't think of a better feedback than inspiring others. Thanks again for letting me know, that you liked my post and my painting :-)

cool indeed))

Looks like you had a lot of fun with colours there.

btw i can see a A for Anarchy in your painting ^^

Busted! I guess my subconsciousness made me paint it ;-)

Nice, i always loved this style, because it might be something i would manage to do in a way lol it does get messy in workplace doesn't it? :)

Yes, but it's important to make yourself free from those fear of messing up the workingplace. When I was younger I never cared about some paint on my walls or the carpet, but while getting older I try to use more plastics or fleece to cover up everything. If everything is prepared, it could be lots of fun ;-)

Hmmm, i think i will have to try it, but i will take things outside lol Do you have to prepare acrylic paint for it somehow special? Because as far as i know, the one u use for painting is quite stif.. Or you just use acrylic paint used to paint houses? lol

I used these SOLO GOYA 17800 - Triton Acrylic Basic Power Pack from amazon. They are ready to go, you can drip the colors right from the bottle.

When I started, I also often just used tinting paint from the hardware store and painted on brown wrapping paper. This is way cheaper and also gives some good results.

Great work @shortcut!

Thanks a lot :-)

what a creativity!

Thanks, I really liked the theme.

Wonderfull art 💙💙💙

paint roller.gif

Cool gif! Your work?

NO! not mine. just a friendly gif(T)

This post received a 1.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @shortcut! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66158.45
ETH 3552.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61