Throwback to When 14-Year-Old Seth Wanted to be a Stop-Motion Animator

in #art7 years ago

Once upon a time, I was very inspired by the films of Tim Burton, especially his stop-motion movies. I loved the medium and his style. 

Films like Vincent, The Nightmare Before Christmas and Corpse Bride were among my favourites back then. I still enjoy them, but my tastes have moved on.

Vincent (1982)

Watch this short film. It's awesome.

At 14, I already knew I wanted to be a filmmaker, but at this time my main interest was in stop-motion animation. So that's what I played around with.

Here's my very first, very choppy, stop motion test... complete with the crappy animated logo for my first film "company":

After that, I did a few tests with clay. 

Here's the best of them:

My foray into stop-motion ended with a short film called The Epic Adventures of These Specific Lego Characters. Save for an obnoxiously long introduction, I still think this is a decent little film with some fairly good animation. I wish I still had the original file so that I could upload a higher-quality version, but alas, that hard drive was fried before I understood the importance of backing up my data.

Let that be a lesson to the rest of you!

The Epic Adventures of These Specific Lego Characters (2006)

It was fun while it lasted, but I like what I'm doing now a lot better. Let me know what you think in the comments, and remember to upvote and follow me!

~Seth

P.S. I know Tim Burton didn't direct The Nightmare Before Christmas, but it's still very much a Tim Burton film. Don't hassle me!

Sort:  

digging the clay animation! Also, you can't go wrong with lego men. lol

Clay is fun. I'd love to return to the medium one day and do a totally crazy, abstract claymation.

Wow, those stop motion videos you made are impressive! It's so much harder than it looks, how long did the Lego one take you to make?

Oh boy... you're asking me to think back to more than 10 years ago lol!

I think I spent afternoons shooting it for about a week.

Still in love with stop-motion animation. This will sound ridiculous but I had hoped when The Lego Movie was released that they had done it in stop-motion. Yeah, yeah, I know, talk about time consuming. Nice post.

I know they used some real Lego elements, but I believe all of the animation was done digitally. But they deliberately made it look like stop-motion.

Nice! Me and my best friend from back in the days used to make our own sort of stopmotion series when we were 16, we were the heroes of our neighborhood!

Don't know a thing about animation but I think they're pretty awesome. I was wondering how long it took you to do each videos.

Each of the tests was done in an afternoon. The Lego movie probably took me about a week.

wow.. even your first stop motion impressed me! Those are a lot of work, you should be proud of your 14 year old self :D I don't think I would have know to get a pov shot when I was that age haha

You can still do stop motion movies it not to late. Im sure there are some people like me aho would like to see it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54733.25
ETH 2475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15