The Start of a New Painting - How Will it Turn Out?

in #art6 years ago

Hello Steemers

Today I started my next painting project, a landscape painting of the view from Icart Point on the island of Guernsey. Whenever I have the intention of doing a studio painting I always do a colour study first.

I started blocking in my colour study, it's a work in progress and it's not finished yet so I have no idea how it will turn out, hopefully well! 

This is what the colour study looks like so far and I'll show you how I painted it. I'll post this painting to Steemit again when I have finished it.

This is two of the reference photos I used which is the view from Icart Point in Guernsey. Icart Point is one of my favourite places on the island.

I am painting of loose canvas which I have stuck to a board with some masking tape. This is a small painting as it's a colour study so it doesn't need to be big. I added a layer of burnt umber which helps with colour and tone.

I am painting in oils and I sketch out the composition using burnt sienna.

I start the painting by determining what my darkest tones are and in this case its the shadows in the cliffs and the sea in the foreground.

I mix the colours for the cliff shadows using a combination of ultramarine blue, burnt sienna, quinacridone magenta and titanium white.

Once I have established my darkest tones I next work on the sky. I painted the cloud highlights with titanium white mixed with a little burnt sienna and yellow oxide. 

I paint the cloud shadows using the same colours that I used in the cliff shadows but I use much more titanium white.

Next I paint the foliage on the cliffs, Guernsey has some quite unique earthy greens and I was able to mix using a combination of cadmium yellow, ultramarine blue, yellow oxide and titanium white. To vary the hue of the green mixture I add in places burnt sienna and cadmium orange.

I mix the colour of the sea using ultramarine blue, titanium white and a little yellow oxide. By using fewer colours you will keep your colours mixes looking cleaner.

I complete the blocking in phase by adding the white water around the based of the cliffs and shaping the rocky cliff faces.

I mixed the colours of the rocks using burnt sienna, yellow oxide, ultramarine blue and titanium white.

I am now waiting for this painting to dry so that I can add some more detail to it and refine the painting overall, once this is complete I will start on the larger painting.

I will post the next phase of this painting to Steemit as and when I complete it, hopefully in a few days...stay tuned.

I hope you enjoyed this Steemit post, check out my website for more painting demos and my art: samuelearp.com

Sort:  

That's a beautiful art, i appreciate your painting.... keep it up my dear friend..
Upvote and resteemit done.

@triptybarsha - You may not realize that "beautiful art","i appreciate your" is considered to be spam, you used 65 similar phrases in your last 100 comments, and the Steem Sincerity API shows a 50.50% spam score. Learn why this is spam and a few better ways to earn the support of the community when commenting.

@samuel-earp-art - You can remove this comment and everyone can whitelist me from appearing in future posts.

Everything about this painting is amazing so far. I had to zoom in to see if it was a photo or a painting! Can’t wait to see the finished product.

Thanks @wizardofcheeze, hopefully it will turn out well, then I can make a start on the actual full sized studio painting.

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43