Karma Art - The 12 Principles (And other art for the day)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Notice How All Arts of Practice Have Their Own Laws?

Then Notice, how they all seem to corrolate?

I will be a bit snarky and take it one step further, notice how the Secret and the Law of Attraction kind of steals from all of them? I have a blog brewing on the Flaw of Attraction but for now... I will share some more positive vibes :)

This is what I have been working on today.

The 12 Laws of Karma are fundamental principles that attempt to explain how karma works. It's a lot more than simply, do good and good will happen.

Later, I would like to open a discussion about the elements, the Hermetic Laws and the Karmic Laws...

But for now it is just a day of art and staying out of the heat.

Next up it is an element image that I am working on.

Here is the progress of it.

I have seen a lot of other images out there but I figured that it is about time I made my own,. At some point, I would like to incorporate them into my class lesson plans. One step at a time. :)

Do you have any concepts that you would like to see in the drawn form?

Let me know! I'll be happy to have a new project!

Special thanks to @justincscott for inspiring this post. You can see their post here that inspired this one: https://steemit.com/psychology/@iamjustincscott/the-truth-about-karma#@rumdancer/re-iamjustincscott-the-truth-about-karma-20170704t193307665z

I Love Attention! Read More of Me Here:

My Magickal Motivations

We Are Never Alone

How to Handle Life

End of June Art Doodle Round Up

Get more art, poetry, philosophy and that occult shit your mom warned you about at…
DeviantArt and Steemit.com @RumDancer
Twitter: RumDancer770
Oodles of Doodles rumdancerart.tumblr.com

Sort:  

The "Flaw of Attraction", karma by association. ;)

the Flaw of Attraction? I love it! :D

Even if karma would be as simple as doing good, we would still be stuck deciding what that actually means!

A friend of my family was walking pass a bridge and noticed a person drowning in the river. He had a kind heart so he helped the drowning man and saved his life. The man thanked him and promised to return a favour.

He turned out to be someone influential in the KGB. He most likely ordered others to be killed and tortured etc. The family friend said that he felt like pushing this guy right back into that river. He regretted saving him because doing so might have contributed to suffering of many. Perhaps it was better should he have drowned.

OMG I shouldn't but that made me chortle a bit. I so get it. I go round and round with students about the whole concept. When I first started teaching it was easy, students from the get go I would say to them that they know nothing, and every time you think you know something, remember you know nothing. I was taught that from my mentor and priestess and I pass it on. But it was a different world only 20 years ago, lol. These days, if you CAN do something seems to equate with the should... automatically. Like, there is no thought about it. Plus, combine it with everyone knowing all the thing about attraction, oi... The rate of decomp in America shocks me not. ;) I think when you study the principles of hermetics, karma or even hinduism... you get a more clear picture. They all kind of borrow from each other and so the sentiment is the same. Ultimately, even Crowley got that one right, there needs to be intent, action, will and love. There is a multi-tiered responsibility approach.

:D This story often makes people chortle. Feel free to share it in your class if you want to. I came across a very similar narrative in form of a Daoist tale. The question seems to be as old as humanity itself.

These days, if you CAN do something seems to equate with the should

This is where I find concept of True Will and Thelemic thought useful. People seem to often misunderstand it as do whatever takes your fancy I see it differently and would argue that so did Crowley.

In reality every day I wake up I have almost infinite choices of what to do with my life. I could pack a bag and travel to a different country, I could change my job, a partner, join religious extremist group or just make myself a cup of coffee and respond to messages on steemit. :D They are all possible and valid options. The concept of True Will means that even though, each option is valid, at any given time I can only choose one. Knowing your true will means knowing which one is best for me (and others) right now.

Not acting is still a choice and sometimes it is indeed the best one. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by RumDancer from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75