🎨 "The Dressmaker" - She paints with fabric!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

When I started to create my first "Venusmachines", I asked friends, if their daughter wanted to model for me. Although still a teenager at the time, she was quite excited and from the beginning, she did an extraordinary job.

I still work with her today. Her parents are very proud of their daughter being represented in a number of my works and now they commissioned me to do a kind of portrait of her. Knowing, that it wouldn't just be someone sitting there, making a pretty face...


DieSchneiderin-1.jpg


The young lady found her passion in dressmaking, and specialized in the custom made "Dirndl", a traditional Bavarian outfit for women. Just to give you an idea, here a (not so traditional) version from a recent photoshoot with my wife and another friend.


DSC_8705.jpg


The biggest step in such a commission for me is the idea behind the painting. To make it unusual, eye catching and different, yet aesthetic. I don't mind an artwork to be disturbing, when that fits the subject, but in a portrait of a young woman, you also want to bring out her beauty.. which is always harder than ugliness! A painting can easily get ugly on its own, beauty is always related to effort.. even when is supposed to look effortless in the end ;-)

The painting idea came originally from a whole different project, the "Hommage aux Maitres" (Tribute to the old masters), by the French artists group "Libellule" I am a member of. My plan was to take the turban of the famous van Eyck painting and combine it with my own elements...


2016-hommage_vanEyck-400x552.jpg


...similar to what I had done with Botticelli's Venus.

grandV.jpg


As I worked with my talented model, this became more and more a project of its own. Among the other paintings I had created with their daughter, her parents liked this one the best and finally commissioned me to do this "portrait" for them.


DieSchneiderin.jpg


This is a photo of the work in progress and shows the so called underpainting. That means, I paint only with white on a midtone, in this case a orange-ish English red. This way, one builds up the form first and then adds color in very thin oil glazes. Here I'm already working on a second layer of this underpainting, after a glaze of ocre was applied and the shadows in the skin tones got a touch of green. That gives a nice tone later, when thin glazes of the actual skin tone are put on top of it.

The painting shows my young dressmaker partly with her face, but also with what she does. When she talks about her work and how she develops her piece, to me it feels as if she was painting with fabric. Of course I like the fact, that there is a (sewing) machine involved, and I could add some more technical elements.

I'm thinking about also doing a version on glass. I had done several glass paintings with her, like the "Hallelujahmachine"...

HallelujahMaschine.jpg




I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems


appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


All photos/scans by me of my own artwork

sig-2017-1.png

pfeil-3.png

See more of my work on BeScouted

Sort:  

Hi reinhard-schmid,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

This is amazing! Thank you so very much for this extraordinary token of appreciation. I feel very honored :-)
A wonderful day for you all as well

Ich komme mir immer so vor wie Alice im Wunderland wenn ich Deine Arbeit sehe.... man fühlt sich danach leichter, als ob man sich für einen Moment keine Sorgen machen muss :-)))

Das ist wirklich ein sehr schönes Kompliment, und es freut mich ganz besonders wenn mir jemand erzählt, dass ein Bild von mir so positive Gefühle erzeugt :-)
Oh Gott, ich seh grad, dass ich da schon wieder eine ganze Reihe Posts von Dir versäumt hab... gleich mal ein wenig "stöbern" :-)

Das ist wahr.... man fühlt sich als ob man wieder verspielt sein kann wie ein Kind, so keine Verantwortung tragen muss, und das baut voll den Stress ab :-D

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Love you too botty! <3 :-)

howdy from Texas reinhard-schmid! This is such an interesting post. The idea of taking your young model and doing a portrait in the form of the Master's is a brilliant idea and the results speak for themselves! great job.

Do you use other models when you create art or just her?

Greetings to Texas! I actually have one of my glass paintings hanging there :-)

Glad you like this painting. Yes, I work with a hand full of other models, my wife being the number one :-)

oh how interesting, thank you sir for getting back to me!

Ach, wie schön!
Ich freu mich für dich und dein curie-vote sowie das weiterführende Show-case! Endlich mal wieder was los hier auf dem Steemit Hügel.

Und dann werde ich mir die Tage noch deinen Post hier genauer anschauen, aber ich wollt nur schnell gute Nacht sagen, weil mir gleich sowas von die Augen zufallen. Gähn.

Schlafe schön, du Künstler :)

🌙

Danke Dir! Ja, so ein upvote ist schon motivierend. Auch wenn ich momentan wieder kaum dazu komme hier aktiv zu sein...
Wünsch Dir ein schönes Wochenende :-)

Hi reinhard-schmid,

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Saturday/Early Sunday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would NOT want us to feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@misterakpan#6646).

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Akpan (@curie curator)
[email protected]

Curie---Author-Showcase---Radial-Gradient-BG.gif

A big thank you for the curator who nominated me as well as for the upcoming feature!

Oh wow, that's awesome!! Thank you so much for including me :-) Definitely is very motivating!

Your artwork is amazing and very unique! Simply excellent! I enjoyed every brush line! ❤😊👍

Many thanks for your kind compliments. Its still a long way to the completed piece...

Wow! I love dressmaking! Thanks to you sir.

Thank you! Have you created dresses or other clothes yourself as well?

Do you have many models? I know Karin has featured in several.

Hehe... as in all things, I prefer quality over quantity. Although it is sometimes hard to stay focused on my work up here in my studio, with Karin's café full of beauties, there really are only a hand full. Karin is definitely number one :-)

Ah, the joys of being an artist. =)

...I don't wish to know where this comes from but I always associate underpainting with underpants.

Haha... fits the dressmaking theme too 😜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18