🎨 "Journey II" - a surrealistic approach to air travel without flying

in #art7 years ago (edited)

For once you have tasted flight you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and there you will long to return.

I hardly ever leave the house without that quote by Leonardo da Vinci popping up in my mind. Funny, how we have come to take being able to fly for granted today. Sure, we need some machine to get up into the sky, but we live in a time, where this age old desire to fly is no longer a dream. In fact, for quite a few people it has become such an ordinary form of getting from one place to another, that they are far from excited about it any more.

Unless you are more privileged and pilot your own flying vehicle, getting on a plain today is hardly different from getting on a crowded bus. I still remember how incredibly excited I was, when I took my first flight. The sensation was truly unbelievable... today, I try to avoid flying at all cost.

reis-1-1024x787.jpg

Although my radius is now largely determined by my Rocket, I still like to travel and discover new places. Just so you don't think, I found a way to propel myself into the stratosphere, I'm talking about a Triumph Rocket III Touring, my motorcycle called by some a big steemengine with a sofa ;-)

Buzzing around on it has become my way of "flying" and whenever we travel this way, the the route is the goal.

Many of my paintings show, how I'm fascinated by machines and weird vehicles, which I often place in surreal landscapes or in situations that don't appear "realistic"... just like airplanes were, 500 years ago :-)


RS-Journey-II_2-800x1851.jpg


"Reise II" (Journey II) - Graphite pencil, watercolor and acrylics on reverse side of glass


I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems




appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


pfeil-1-200x88.jpg

View all my pictures I posted here on steemit!
Viewer discretion advised, nsfw pictures visible without warning!



All photos/scans by me of my own artwork done in my special technique as introduced in What is Hinterglas?

sig_2013-1-Klein.jpg



Please support Art For a Little Brave Heart

aflbh.jpg

Sort:  

Great work ...

One more fantastic work! I can see that you like girls and heels hehe.
All your pictures are very different which makes them unique, but all of them combines the clarity of the details. Just amazing!!!

Hehe... big surprise, right? ;-)

Thank you for your keen observation and your kind comment! <3

I used to read a lot of books Stanisław Herman Lem

(Polish pronunciation: [staˈɲiswaf ˈlɛm]

He was a Polish writer of science fiction, philosophy, and satire, and a trained physician.

I could imagine how he would love your work and use yours illustrations to his books.

Excellent work I admire it ;)) UP

I know Stanisław Lem's writing. In fact, I think I read all of his books with "Sterntagebücher" (Dzienniki gwiazdowe) being my favorite... long time ago, so maybe its time to reread some of 'em. Its highly possible,that he had a big influence on the images floating around in my mind.

I had a feeling my friend :) Yes, I think you should it would be great connection your art and his writing. Have a full of inspiration day ;)

You never disappoint!.. I always feel my vote and words are worthless in contrast to what they feel about your work. I love how you turn the ordinary extraordinary. You mind is a very vast place :]!!!
Funny today's is about flying... I was observing a bird outside my window just yesterday morning... and my mind started to drift on how they are the most free of inhabitants of this earth...how wonderful it must be to roam free , spread your wings and feel the breeze like we never experience.
If there is such thing as reincarnation I know what I would choose to be :]

thank you for the lovely images.

If anything my comments and replies are worthless compared to the beautiful way you have with words.

Its really weird, how so many thoughts and feelings seem connected here lately. Just had this talk with another steemit friend... one has a thought, the other makes a post about it. Quite fascinating!

Thank you for your ever so wonderful words :-)

Wonderful painting again!
I love it when your art pops up on my feed! :)

Thanks a lot for liking my work :-)

Been to Graz on the Rocket last year on the way down south. Very nice area :-)

Very abstract and fun for the eyes to explore. Brilliant work @reinhard-schmid ! Someday I hope to add a piece to my STEEM office gallery

Glad you like it. Having ones own art collection is something really special. The artworks I purchased from skilled colleagues are my biggest treasures and brighten my day every time I look at them. Looking forward to see my work on your wall :-)

As of right now I have work from @opheliafu and @mariandavp in my office. Something from you would be an amazing addition. Would you accept STEEM payment?

Absolutely! What did you have in mind? :-)

That’s up to you. Whatever you think belongs in a STEEM-only art gallery ! Possibilities are endless

Well, I guess the steemfest exhibition sure showed a big variety, so you are right, there are a lot of possibilities. You should have taken the opportunity and grabbed my print ;-)

For me this is a little trickier, since sometimes people are turned off, when they hear I am a professional artist and this is how I make a living. So, I don't know if you are looking to get a "donation", or if you would find it acceptable to compensate an artist for their work just like anyone else... I'd be thrilled to find a workable solution :-)

Scanned your blog a bit, to get to know you a bit better... anything in particular I should read? (Links welcome :-) )

I’m sure your print was one of the first to be taken. And an original would be even cooler! I am definitely willing to compensate, hopefully with STEEM if that’s okay with you. How much do typically charge?

That’s a tough question, I’m a mess, and my blog is full of a whole bunch of random nonsense from food to landscape photography. I really love your abstract work that has a Dali-esque feel to it. But something inspired by this network would be awesome

I'm always impressed, when younger people have a serious interest in art and I have helped the start of numerous collections, which normally stay with a person for a life time.

My glass originals take weeks, sometimes month to create, so I'm not sure if that might be worth it to you. The good news is, that there is something for everyone who is serious.

My selection starts with A5 (8.27 x 5.83 inches) Greeting cards at 4,- Euro. OK, steem is down right now, but I'd say we make it 1:1

Next is a line of posters from 9,50 to 19,- and one quality step higher are so called giclée prints, limited editions signed and numbered, starting at 49,- and so on...

If you gave me an idea of what you'd like to invest, it would be easier for me, to make you a good offer.

Depending on where you live, shipping might be an issue. I live in Germany.

Wow this is a great art! Are you professional artist?

Thank you! Yes, that's my job 🎨

At first glance thought it was a child then on the second full sized picture I see long legs...on heels! 😄 Nice art style, with a hint of Renaissance.

Thank you for taking the time to look beyond the first picture and for liking it 😀

Now wouldn't this look great as a life-size sculpture on the Viechtach market square. ;)

Super idea. I'll pm you with the mayor's phone number, so you can bug him about it!! Will you do the metal work, Tim?

Ofcourse. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57475.27
ETH 2375.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34