High Heels, Rope and an Asparagus - a surrealistic approach to the "First Ascent"

in #art7 years ago

When I lived in the US back in the 90s, someone told me, my art was phallic. Maybe because English isn't my mother tongue, I had no clue what this was supposed to mean. OK, I figured it out eventually...

Even though I have a few gay friends, I'm not all that eager to see men's private parts and I have no idea, how anyone can see certain... ahm... things... in my work O:-) I'm the high heel guy after all ;-)

erstbesteigung-1.jpg

A few years ago I participated in an exhibition in France and the theme was "Mountain". Just painting a pile of rocks appeared a bit boring to me though, and I tried to come up with something a little more... "entertaining". The show took place in a spa town in the Auvergne and therefore adding some volcano made sense to me. But somehow I also wanted to tie my girl into it and I was looking for the perfect rock for a good story. It was Asparagus season and one of these vegetables finally sparked the right Idea...


As always, I first did the pencil drawing on glass


erstbesteigung-3.jpg


At that time, I still worked a lot with watercolor, so that was the next layer. Quite tricky I must say and eventually one gets to the point, when corrections are next to impossible


erstbesteigung-4.jpg


In the last stage, the painting is finished with acrylics.
Does it have a hidden meaning?

What do you think?



erstbesteigung-2.jpg



I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems




appendix-1b_01.jpg
appendix-1b_02.jpgappendix-1b_03.jpgappendix-1b_04.jpgappendix-1b_05.jpg


pfeil-1-200x88.jpg

View all my pictures I posted here on steemit!
Viewer discretion advised, nsfw pictures visible without warning!



All photos/scans by #ReinhardSchmid of my own artwork done in my special technique as introduced in What is Hinterglas?

sig_2013-1-Klein.jpg



Please support Art For a Little Brave Heart

aflbh.jpg

Sort:  

Really nice work! There is are references to Dali and his elephants. "Unbearable lightness of being"

Haha.. "Unbearable lightness of being", that's great! Jaust saw the movie again after a very long time. Yes, I guess the sticks and supports would remind you of Dali... not the worst to be compared to, thank you :-)

For "Unbearable lightness of being" i recommend to you the book of Milan Kundera if you have not read it . Cheers! :)

I have... I think it was more than 20 years ago. Maybe time to read it again too!

Hah hah, goog question. I see many climbing subjects in your work :) A guy climbing up a woman's leg with a clear idea where he would end. Not this nice lady climbing asparagus with that pickaxe dangerously dangling from her waist (i hope she won't use it due to associations i am having) lol

So many objects in your work are striving for some point of climax. I am not sure if that could be called phallic (as english ain't my mother tongue too, so i can't fully grasp the meaning of it) but there certainly is some hidden content that Froid could have a say about for sure :)

"Striving for some point of climax".. excellent way of putting it. There have been a few remarks about the hidden meaning of this piece. The owner is a doctor, though not psychiatrist, he is quite in tune with innuendos and hints. He also calls me the "master of subtle obscenities" ... to me actually a compliment ;-)

You're definitely the high heel guy. Great work.

Heh heh... high heel and Rocket guy ;-) Thanks for stopping by.. Time for me, to check what's up in Canada!

Was she the first one to conquer the mountain, and if so, did she name it?

Wonderful work as always my darling.

Ah, yes... forgot to mention: "First Ascent" is the name of the painting. So, right.. she's the first one to conquer this one. Did she name it? Who knows 😎

Glad you like it!

Would have figured that out if I wasn't so tired and just mesmerized with the painting itself 😅

Beautiful work.

I wonder about the hidden meaning ... My thoughts: women appear very practical and unpractical at the same time. Carrying bags with actually a total household and a pharmacy in them - very useful to survive - and at the same time can't open the door because of a broken fingernail;-)

I like the hammer she carries.

P.S. the second thought I don't want to tell.

Haha... a woman and her handbag.. god only knows what secrets hide in some of them ;-) Adding a fingernail repair kit might be an idea!

Hehe.. the second thought is then the one I really want to know... particularly after reading your post https://steemit.com/deutsch/@erh.germany/neurotics-and-other-characters

Won't tell:) thank you for promoting the post. I will follow your upcoming arts for sure & guess it will inspire me once more.

Have you seen the Harry Potter movies? In the last part Hermine even got a tent out of it, so her fellows had a place to sleep in. I very much love the humor of J. K. Rowling and all the lovingly put in details of myths & fantasy aspects.

@reinhard-schmid awesome work 👏🏼 Checked your website too, love love love your vision and esthetic. I love the fact that it’s multidimensional. If you flip her 90degrees to the right, she’s already not climbing it but I guess trying to get it up 😂🙈😂🙈 omg that sounds so wrong ! Especially with all previous references to the mountain haha

Thank you very much! I'd seen your upvote earlier and just started to read your blog. Love the Backstage Chronicles, as I truly love to see someone who knows how to move. Of course I like dancing... well, more as a spectator rather than a performer. Any kind, although I must admit, I enjoy gogo a lot more than ballet 😎

Lol 🤣 That new twist with 90degrees turn is absolutely hilarious, particularly with the potential hidden suggestions.

Haha awesome! I’m glad you liked my lil twisted view. And yay, thanks for checking my blog 👯💗

Darling, I'm so happy to see your post getting some good rewards, this is definitely what you deserve!

Thank you, so nice of you to say that. Someone was very generous and I am very thankful 🙂
I see you are going to steemfest... wish I could go too, but unfortunately I have other obligations...

Hahaha ! Of course this leads to a lot of meanings ! LoL.png and indeed we, creators, are always the last ones to see the other meanings because we didn't have any intentions at the moment we took the pencil or the brush, and we just went to follow an impulse, that led to another and another and it creates scenes and fancy paintings, and from that, people are seeing their own projections ;-)

That said,
I absolutely adore everything in this painting...the background, the girl, the dress, the tools, the yummilicious asparagus head...I enjoy all the details

et je suis en admiration devant tant de talent Monsieur ! ^_^

up&resteemedredim.png

Very well said! Of course, as an artist you know how it works!

Thank you for your kind compliments. Your work is beautiful and inspiring :-)

beautiful artwork, reminds me of fashion illustration,the moment I saw it I checked your "What is Hinterglas?" post and then took a glass and tried to draw on it ...what am I missing ? :)

Thank you for your kind words and your interest in my work. What are you missing? Most likely many many years of trial and error. It took me countless experiments and a lot of time and effort to finally get it to work as it does now...

for sure that is what I am missing , years of practice, :) but I think it has to be something about the pencils too ,because i tried 4 b an 8 b and it doesn't even leave a mark

Finding a way for something to work can be very frustrating at first. You need to think outside the box and try different roads. Eventually you will find your very own approach :-)

Wunderbar. Surreal und doch so echt. Mag ich sehr!

Freut mich, vielen Dank :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86