Spicebush Swallowtail Caterpillar ~ (WIP)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Video Of My Painting Process-Mature Caterpillar

This video is my second attempt at using GoPro headset while painting. My head movements are still making the film jump around but this time it wasn't as bad.

I am learning how to edit my videos using iMovie on my new MacBook Pro I bought at Newegg using my steemit rewards traded for bitcoin.

The GoPro has been loaned to me by a friend. I have had a blast trying to figure out the settings, which are very complicated. I am still trying to figure all the functions out, thank-goodness the manual is well written for newbies like me. Plus I love reading a good manual!

iMovie Is Easy To Use

So far I've learned to connect separate videos together, add music, edit using crop and speed functions. This video is three different videos spliced together and the speed function was set at x800 to get 1.5 hours down to around 5 minutes. Adding music was easy, just drag and drop. Figuring out how to do everything on iMovie was easy as well, I just go to help and ask a question. The help manuals are also well written and easy to understand.

iMovies Crop Function

This function was also easy to use, select your clip and choose which area on your clip you want to focus. A little adjustable box will show up, you can slowly focus in on subject or focus out or pick the basic crop and stay with the subject of focus.

I still have a lot of work to do on this little guy, the coloring and size suggest this caterpillar is ready turn into a butterfly. This particular variety of butterfly goes through 3 stages of development as a caterpillar. The hatchings looks like a bird droppings, the middle stage or instar, has the look of a snake and also its coloring blends well with the spice bush plant the caterpillars eat. The end stage before developing into a chrysalis and spinning a silken cocoon turns yellow and is larger than the instar stage.

Papilio troilus

Spicebush Caterpillar

Stages of growth for the Spicebush Caterpillar

Pen And Ink Drawing, 1st Step

First Layer Of Paint

Caterpillar Hatching

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Hi @reddust, i use imovie as well and a trick i use that works quite well i think is to set up your video camera on a tripod along the top edge of your painting and shoot. It's upside down but you can flip it in imovie.

i don't have a tripod that fits this camera, i think i can rig it to the bottom part that holds weights..ha! thank you

Here's how it turned out for me in a test video I made. The first minute or so was shot upside down and then flipped in iMovie. Hope it helps.

Thank you the video was helpful and I figured out how to set up my GoPro on my camera's tripod!

You're very welcome. I'm glad you figured it out.

fantastic u have some magic in ur hands ur hand movig fastly and make this fantastic i amaized on it and appriciate u reddust mam

@robrowe, the video is actually 1 and a half hours long, I used the edit function in iMovie app to speed up the video 800%....lololol I am not that fast! Thank you...

its good u have a good talent of art and make this arts are example of ur good talent in art work mam

Thank you kindly @mikewilliam, you comments are always thoughtful.

@reddust - Madam, I like your art of painting. it's amazing madam. This is the 1st time I could watch your painting so live. Therefore, I will RESTEEM & UPVOTE your post Sire.

+W+

great job reddust hope u make some new paintings and share with us like this exellent painting

With complicated paintings like this I can only paint a couple a month. This kind of detailed painting will take weeks to finish. Thank you @ilyonse!

I like a lot that painting. It's very nice. When i started to edit my videos i learned all that i needed from video tutorials :)

@lucksteem, I need to start using videos as well. I am just a baby so all you editing geniuses be patient with me please!

No problem, you have a good start, it's nice video!

Thank you <3

thanx to share ur video it attract me to learn this kala and create the exciting feelings about making beautifull arts like ur butterfly's photo

Thank you kindly @kellyrose, I'm going to check your blog and see if you have written an article yet. I am looking forward to getting to know you through your blogging interests.

You are good at it. But I do not speak these programs well :(

The programs are for novices like me lololol

nice @reddust ur art is wonderfull and also u share ur making art video is also good

Thank you @shencoin and your English writing skills are getting better. You can practice using my articles comment section. I admire all of my non English speaking friends who have learned a second language while I only know mine.

@reddust, videos will be a great addition to the work you already do.

Thanks for giving us a look at your beautiful art pieces and the process behind how they are created.

Thank you @sumatranate, I figured out how to take the jerky action out of the video, I removed myself...hahahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64479.05
ETH 3181.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57