Spicebush Swallowtail And Caterpillar ~ Drawing

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Plus My Steemit Rewards Reinvested

Family: Papilionidae ~ Subfamily: Papilioninae

14 X 11 inches, mixed media paper, pen and ink. This is a line drawing for a watercolor illustration.

Life History: Males patrol in woods, roads and woodland edges to find receptive females. Females lay single eggs on underside of host plant leaves. Caterpillars live in shelters of folded-over leaves and come out to feed at night. Some chrysalids from each generation hibernate. Flight: 2 generations per year from April-October. In Florida, several generations between March-December.

Caterpillar looks like a snake and will rise up when disturbed and enlarge it's head.

Steemit SBD and Steem traded for BTC reinvested in some art supplies and pet supplies for my rescued crippled Mourning Dove. Overstock.com takes BTC and dozens of other cryptocurrencies

PG enjoying her new digs bought from my Steemit rewards

18 x 30 x 18 inches flight cage bought at overstock.com with BTC. Morning doves only get along with non aggressive birds of their size. I've read mourning doves do not mind being by themselves. Introducing new birds like a diamond dove for company takes time and you can't just stick a strange bird in with another bird. Most birds including my chickens are extremely territorial. Mourning doves love to be handled and cuddled from what I've read. PG isn't there yet, it's been 3 months since we rescued her. I handle her ever day and at least she stays on my lap but she doesn't look too happy

Papilio troilus

Spicebush Caterpillar

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Awesome photographs! Thank you for sharing with us.
RESTEEMED

Thank you @machhour, I always like seeing your comments about my article.

good art, keep up the good work !! upvoted and foolowed too

Ahhh, thank you @jawadovic, you are too kind.

i miss the miss that kiss my lips :D :D that butterfly pic made my day :) my precious lady :) @reddust :)

No kissing...my husband would not like that but thank you for your lovely thoughts @hassanabid.

hahhahahhahhahhaa :D :D sorry my precious lady :) but a small boy can kiss aunty ? :D :) :D hehehe

Only if husband say's it's okay, young boys are mischievous, I think I maybe your Auntie several times removed from the family tree :p

hahhahahhahhahhahaha :) <3 you are very loyal thats very great :)

Do you plan to color it? It already looks fantastic, can imagine the colored version:)

yeah i'm going to add watercolor and gouache, much like @tonyr said, this illustration will look like my earthhome and treehouse illustration.

Can't wait to see the final result! I remember insects in your other artworks, and they all looked fantastic, especially the ones with the drops of water on them. I even forgot that I fear them:)

:) Can't wait to see how this one turns out @reddust! I can almost see the colours now! I really enjoyed the hobbit style painting you did and loved the colours in that one and I'm thinking this one is going to be just as good. :)

Love the dove! :) It's a shame when animals are no longer able to enjoy the freedom they once had but it is good to know there are wonderful people like yourself to care for them when they need it! :)

Have fun with the painting my friend!

I 'm taking my time, no eight hour painting sessions for awhile, i have to get up and become more active. My body is rebelling against my sedentary ways. maybe i should try painting standing up? I will have to drop my old habits painting, I have rituals that get me in the zone....

I know, poor PG, she was made to fly and she represents to me the human condition and i double up on my sadness sometimes but i think it is a good sadness, i'm being helpful, maybe someday i can help people too! we humans were meant to fly as well, i feel we have lived in cages for so long we humans have forgotten we metaphorically have wings too.

Excellent post with good and creative drawing from my dear friend @reddust

  1. Your commiunication and drawing skills are execellent mam....I think you are one of tallented people in this platform
  2. Nice and creative artwork...I think you have morencreative and different ideas about drawing...and nature...
    3.I really like your all uptades in this platform...
  3. Thank you so much @reddust sharing this cool post with us..it is incredible...
  4. I respect abd appreciate your post always...
    Upvoted and resteemed...
    Happy steeming and keep it up post..
    Cheers!..

I have improved both my drawing and communication skills this last year on steemit. Thank you for supporting my efforts @dinisanda. I like the bullet list idea for critiquing someone's post, well done!

Definitely worth an upvote and a resteem :]

thank you kindly @insiders!

Caterpillars and their fake eye designs are so much fun to look at.

Your drawing and mourning dove are equally lovely. :)


Just published a new post on the 5 most expensive paintings ever sold. Check it out! (If you want :) )

Beautiful pokemon red

Yeah the caterpillar does look like a Pokemon character! Hi @dim753, how is your weekend going so far?

Good red i have to work hard this weekend, and how are you?

I woke up two days ago with vertigo, I was so dizzy I couldn't open my eyes. So I stayed away from my art and writing for a couple days. I took care of the grandkids and cleaned house. my house is very clean now. I feel better today.

Really good red do you have any disease? as High blood pressure or triglycerides that could be the answer

I have a chronic auto-immune illness called fibromyligia, but the symptoms usually don't include dizziness. It maybe from my endocrine system shifting over to non reproductive state. Getting old really sucks hind-teat lolololol

Jajajajajajajaja red you are so funny but really smart

Wow, great linework!! Looking forward too see the final picture! 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54478.01
ETH 2290.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35