Grants Pass Murals #13

in #art6 years ago

Grants Pass Murals #13


It's been a while since I've posted a Grants Pass Mural, and I still have several to post. So, here goes...

"Spirit of the Rogue" mural by Gabriel Mark Lipper:

(located at 933 SE 7th Street, Grants Pass, Oregon)

So, for years I drove around Grants Pass and never even knew this mural existed. I didn't notice it until I had to walk several blocks after the Boatnik Parade last year (back to where my husband had parked the car). That's when I saw it. This mural is located on the North side of a building along a one-way street that goes North. So, unless you are looking through your rear-view mirror at just the right moment, or are a passenger (not driving) and know to turn around and look behind you - you will completely miss this amazing mural!

Here's what it looks like in the street view on Google Maps - so you can see why it's so easy to miss - on this one-way street.  See it hiding behind that tree?:


Here are some more photos of it:

When you go to Gabriel's website (listed as his signature on the mural), you are greeted with many, many images of his amazingly gorgeous & colorful artwork. He's still very active. In fact it looks like he participated (maybe taught) during the recent Plein Air Workshop/Festival event in Medford (I think?) that I really wanted to attend!  (Maybe next year!) His paintings are so colorful and inspiring! 

I searched for more information about this mural on his website, but all I could find was mention of it (I think?) at the bottom of his Bio page. He lists it as the "Spirit of the Rogue" mural for the Evergreen Federal Savings & Loan. And, after searching for that online, it looks like that organization was bought out in the 1980's. So, I'm thinking that he actually means the "Evergreen Federal Bank" - which is the bank that I worked for when I did my bear last year. They are very active in the community, so I would not be surprised at all if it was them who sponsored this mural. I need to ask them or email the artist to find out for sure. And, I still have no idea when this mural was painted.


If you'd like to check out the previous Grants Pass Murals that I've posted, check out the links below:

(Note: I've been posting these in no particular order)


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63