Grants Pass Murals #5

in #art6 years ago

Grants Pass Murals #5

This mural is on the side of the building located on the corner of NE "D" Street and NE 6th Street. (FYI the streets change from NW to NE and vice versa when they cross 6th Street.) This is the building where the Comic Store used to be located, until they moved about a year ago, and now the store is empty - waiting for a new shop/store.

This mural was painted by several artists, at least 3 of them are related to each other - so a family affair! Cool! It was done in 2013 (which is a year after I moved to Southern Oregon). But, I've only been living in Grants Pass for about 2 1/2 years, so I didn't realize that is was fairly new. I thought this mural was older. I'm learning so much about these murals by getting up close and really looking at them, rather than just seeing them as I drive by - pretty cool!

This mural has so much going on in it! there are many people, and now that I've seen it up close, I have noticed that there are (at least) two interesting insects that were painted life-size, with shadow - like they are a "fly on the wall". This makes me think that the artists wanted to convey that the people in the mural were really "art" and the insects were supposed to look real - like they were painted in the trompe-l'oeil style. That's pretty cool, and it seems that these artists have a sense of humor.

  


I just identified these beetles using my "Audubon Insect & Spiders of North America" book. They are California Laurel Borers.

(Insect images found on Google image search)

All of the people are painted well, and there are some famous actors in there.  Well, at least one - Humphrey Bogart...


Really glad to have finally given this mural the attention it deserves!

Stay tuned for more murals around Grants Pass.  There are still many more to show you!

Here are the other murals I have shared so far:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56