Grants Pall Murals #4

in #art6 years ago

Grants Pass Murals #4


The "Garden Mural"

This is the 4th Grants Pass mural I'd like to share with you all.  It is located on the corner of SW 4th Street and SW "G" Street in downtown Grants Pass, on the building where the Herb Shop is located.  I love the colors and the impressionistic style of this mural, although I don't envy the artists - having to paint on such a bumpy, porous surface! I've had to do that before, and it's a pain!  

This mural has been in the works for a couple years, and I'm not sure that it's even all the way completed because there is still some blue painter's tape around the edges on the far right area of the mural (that I really want to peel off, but I'm leaving it alone).

This mural actually has a website:

Here's a link to the website: www.gardenmuralproject.com

And, here's a link to their Facebook page.

There are three artists, and you can read all about them at the website link above. It looks like (from what I can tell) they paid for the mural with a combination of community donations, sponsorships from some local businesses and also a grant from the City of Grants Pass. Pretty cool!!

Here are some more close-up photos of the mural, but you should really go to the website and check out the photos there, too. There are many in-progress photos there.

See the blue painter's tape in this last photo?  I'm thinking they aren't completely finished with it yet.  It has been this way since last summer. We'll see if they do any more painting on it this summer, although I would think they'd be working on it now before it gets too hot during the summer months.

Here's one more view of the mural as seen on Google Maps (I'm guessing this photo was from about a year ago):

Something that is been really intriguing me is that right across the street (exactly across on SW 4th Street, on the opposite corner) is another wall that has had a banner on it for over a year advertising it as a "Wall Available for Mural". 

I actually went in and talked to the owner of the shop that is in this building (a baby & children's boutique) - and she told me at the time (last summer) that there was an artist working on it already.  But, here it sits still, a year later - with the banner saying "Wall Available for Mural" and no painting being done - still.  The wall & exterior paint job is in bad shape- it will need a LOT of work to remove all the flaking off paint and repair the wall - prior to painting.  I'd love to paint a mural there, but not really interested in having to repair the wall first. I'm guessing the artist has either "bailed" or perhaps the permit process is taking a while.  I may venture in and talk to the owner again soon if I can muster up the courage & determination.  We'll see...


There are many, MANY more murals around Grants Pass to show you. And, I have started creating a map of them all, which will take me a while to finish.  I'm not even sure if I have seen ALL the murals around here. I would say, without actually counting, there are probably at least ten more mural, maybe fifteen, or more!!  There are TONS of murals here! So, stay tuned for more mural posts!

Here are the other Grants Pass mural posts so far:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67