Running out of streets

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Previous: All Over Europe

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

I was told that I was unbearable in my early twenties. That was the time that I was going around reading all the big, old books. Kierkegaard and Dostoevsky and Alighieri and all them European ancients that sounded as if the very syllables of their names farts philosophy. I was really into being smarter than other people at that time, kicking around in my skulls a kind of score card that keeps tabs of wins and losses whenever I entered into word-jousting with the people that I was hanging around with.

Dropping quotes like birds pooping from a great height in the middle of conversations. No one was safe from me. Some of the younger ones thought I was radical though if I was honest, and I was never honest. Those people probably existed only in my head. Lost more friends than I could count in those days.

The quotes stayed with me, though. How about that.

Kid texted me though we lived in the same city.

"Do you remember what you thought about exactly at this time last week?"

She was sometimes a sneaky little shit. I probably had said something that she had thought I would regret later on and she had memorized the occasion for a comeuppance moment, akin to priming a landmine in the land of the dark that spanned across the entire future conversations that she and I would have. I didn't text back.

I thought about those existential quotes dancing around in my head in a whirlwind as I walked from street to street. Sometimes I was walking from street to street when I had nothing better to do except walking from street to street, and this was me now, which was fine, because I had friends in my head going on at a hundred miles an hour back and forth with their big quotes at each other, going street to street.

The truth was that I couldn't ignore that brat and I had texted her back within one minute.

"Why did you buy that bike? You would never use it."

Maybe I was unbearable when I was her age, but if you'd ask me, I'd say that she took that game to a whole other level. Which was impressive, it really was. I had to give it to her, because someone who had played that whole business with the score card in your head would recognize one another and I was a grizzled war veteran at this but I had had years to descend into the vortex. And the kid, she was a natural born anarchist.

She replied swiftly. I could almost hear the sound of her grinning.

"To regret it."

At some point in those nights where you walked from street to street, you'd actually run out of streets. Trust me. Those of you who had walked that walk would know this. They'd tell you what I just did, man. You'd come to a corner and you'd realize that you had run out of streets.

I was about to run out of streets when I saw someone I knew from back when. He saw me as sure as water was wet and I could tell that he had known instantly who I was and he pushed his face to a place of arrangement. A veil came over his skin, which was freaky as hell, but then again I thought the same thing was happening on my face. He walked towards me and I turned sideways to cross the road though I had no need to fucking cross the road. I felt him walked behind me and I crossed the fucking road.

Look, sometimes you just have to do things because other things were already in motion from years and years ago. They said a few things were already in motion from hundreds of years ago. I crossed the road I didn't need to cross and turned towards home.

"I was an asshole last week, kid. I gave you shit for nothing."

She didn't reply this time but I felt a notch drawn on the page of the score card that she kept in her head. Her points were through the roof, nothing but vindication trophies that stretched upwards towards the height of infinity point. The kid had points to make, but listen, she wasn't a bad kid, alright? For one, she was always there for me when I had no one else to turn to. And I had put her through some really shitty situations, all right. Others had left, put the veil up, walked away. The kid, though, she was still here giving me attitude about my being an asshole last week.

Maybe she thought I'd get out of the vortex somehow, clawing inch by inch with my own hands. Maybe it wasn't a stretch of dark lands peppered by land mines but a climb out of the cave in which the coward in you lived and thrived inside of you.

Must be a fucking deep cave.

I reached home in the dead hours between two and three in the morning. A cat moved soundlessly at the alley nearby and it stopped to look at me. I waved at it.

"Ran out of streets, I found my way back home."

It turned around and sat to look at the moon. I looked at the moon with it for a while. A giant mirror, it was looking back at me with its shining face. A permanent veil. Maybe that was what death really was. When you put it up for the final time, you wouldn't recognize any one ever again.

I smiled.

Maybe there were no score cards. No wins or losses.

Just streets to be walked, and lonely, lonely hearts that bruise easily.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Photos are taken with Canon EOS 5D Mark III

photographs and story copyright @pooldead

Sort:  

Hello there @pooldead!

You have quite a story! I was actually trying to contemplate if it was you who was out running in the streets.

Reading all through it, you have very strong emotions tagging along. Its like you were just walking and walking till you reach a deadend or a detour. It can be a dangerous thing to do, to be out and lost in thoughts. You will really feel the loneliness and heaviness.

Great story! Keep on making more..

Cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeh, I have walked those streets. It can be dangerous, I guess. Thanks.

Oh it was nothing.. thank you for your story.. it was uplifting and relatable..

Posted using Partiko Android

Is that a Crypto bag?

Didn't notice that, until now!

I like your thoughtful writing, especially at the end of it, it gets a bit sweet and a little hopeful even. We should try to appreciate the people around us a bit more, even though most of the times, they can be pretty frustrating.

Congrats for your curie vote :).

Oh I agree with you here with how it's formatted. Kind of the fringes of a stream of consciousness but that being bounded by a material realm. So it was a cutesy writing style, that knew how to be cutesy and not detrimental, and very much got exemplified at the end.

Oh yeah, general compassion should be a basic human decency thing without any a questions. But compassion given should never be compassion betrayed or misuse - especially when they get frustrating.

Good to know, thanks, man. That's the tone of the ending I was aiming for.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @pooldead! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi pooldead,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Amazing story you have in there. And even till now I don't know if you are the one in the story or a fiction. With your fiction tag in there am taking it as a fiction for now.
I really enjoyed reading your story over and over again because the flow in there was really great and I loved it. Great piece and I hope to land on your amazing stories soon. You pictures on the other hand are really worthwhile

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, good to hear that you enjoyed it!

You are humbly welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

love your writing style

Thanks a lot, man

Thanks for sharing this interesting story @pooldead. Interesting, because you have a very different writing style than the styles I am used to read :) The ending is quite good.

Thanks, good to hear you liked the ending

I started to read your article and I understand that it would like after the name "Alighieri": Dante and his "Divina Commedia" are really famous in Italy and I enjoy knowing that they are famous all over the world too.
I have a rubrica about this poet in my account, "A spasso con Dante (Walking with Dante)".
Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeh, that's the one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64