Boat construction "Ocean oak" - Art with recycling materials.

in #art6 years ago

I had days without uploading content to Steemit, and for good reason, I was working hard on building a small boat, one of the artifacts that I'm most passionate about. It has been a long and exhausting process, very exhausting, and I have photographed every step of the process, to bring it exclusively to this wonderful platform. I have the pleasure of introducing you to the "Oak of the ocean", an original ship of my authorship.


"Ocean oak"


posible.jpg


base 2.jpg


base 3.JPG


base 4.JPG


It is difficult to mention what materials and tools I used to make this boat, they were very many. But you can see them in the course of the post.


Process


The structure of the boat


1.jpg


It all started with a simple piece of unicel (expanded polystyrene). Can you believe that this piece of unicel became the "Ocean Oak"? continue observing and you will understand how was his metamorphosis.


2.jpg


A sandpaper and a knife was what I used to mold the unicel, and start making the ship's hull.

3.jpg


With a marker I drew some guidelines.

4.jpg


Then, with the knife, I began to shape the unicel.

5.jpg


I added a piece of unicel on the front, to be able to make the ship's bow. With a sandpaper, I sculpted the shape of the boat.

6.jpg


Also, with the sandpaper, I dedicated myself to sculpting the details of the bow (Front of the boat).

7.jpg


Both in the drawing and in the creation of three-dimensional figures, the symmetry is crucial. This was an aspect that I always had in mind during the sculpting process.

8.jpg


Here you see me placing a bit of white glue on some pieces of cardboard, which I cut out in the right way to complete the details of the bow.*

9.jpg


That stick of the bow that protrudes, is called "bowsprit", it gives the boat an aerodynamic characteristic. As you can see, it's an old brush without bristles. It was great, is not it?

10.jpg


Already the piece of unicel began to have a boat shape.

"The cannons"


11.jpg


I used the case of a CD to cut 1 cm squares and use them as the doors of the cannons.

12.jpg


In each marked square, I placed a 1cm sheet of CD case.

13.jpg


For the cannons he needed a tubular structure. And an old cable was perfect for it.

14.jpg


With a cutter, I cut pieces of 2cm cable, and I extracted their contents to have the cannons ready.

15.jpg


First, I used black paint to give a background to the ship, and I made a hole in each place where the cannons went.

16.jpg


Then I just had to put them.

17.jpg


The windows at the stern (back of a boat) were small pieces of plastic..

Breastplate of the helmet


18.jpg


If this boat was going to be called the "Ocean Oak", it must have some wood. I went in search of some tree bark, and that's what I got. And this was very interesting, because it makes you think that in reality with any things you can do some art.

19.jpg


And so it started the difficult process of placing each piece of bark in the structure of the boat.

20.jpg


There is a bit of darkness in the photography because part of this process I did in the night (You have to take advantage of the inspiration). But I did not want to miss the opportunity to take another photograph of the process.

21.JPG


White glue, tweezers, scissors and a knife, accompanied me on this night mission.

22.JPG


The day arrived and I continued.

23.JPG


It was fun to put each piece in the bow. I needed a lot of patience, but it was fun.

Other details


24.jpg


For the stern, I went to a used objects sales stand, and bought this.*

25.JPG


It gave a special touch to the stern of the boat.

26.jpg


Other of the materials that I used, were these toothpicks.

27.jpg


I used some remains of Christmas lights, I painted them, I joined them with a toothpick, and thus I made the lamps at the stern.

28.jpg


I painted some white thread with black paint.

29.JPG


With chopsticks and the black thread I made the fence of the boat. And so more and more, our piece of unicel was becoming a ship.

The candles


30.jpg


More old brushes.

31.JPG


That by painting them black they served as the sticks of the candles.

31a.JPG


I was very careful when placing them.

33.jpg


I made the plans of the candles.

35.jpg


36.jpg


I used some old oil to spread on the candles and give them transparency.

37.jpg


The oil would also help shape the candles.

38.JPG


Then, I took out some graphite powder.

39.JPG


With these graphite powder I painted them.

40.jpg


Then I gave them strength with sticks painted black, and this would also serve to join them to the main sticks.

41.jpg


Then I just had to place them. For this I used white glue.

42.JPG


44.JPG


45.JPG


With more black thread, I made the moorings that reinforce the main poles. And already, at this point, our piece of unicel was a boat

Brightness


46.JPG


But still lacked the magic touch of varnish, and so, finally, after 4 consecutive days of hard work, I got the final result.

Result


posible.jpg



What do you think? You can support me with your vote and especially with your comment if you wish.


selfie.jpg


Thank you


BANNER.jpg

Sort:  

If you would show me that piece of unicel and told me what you're going to do it with I would probably not be able to stop laughing. I wouldn't be able to imagine how you want to make a boat from this thing. But you did it! And how great it looks. I'm sure no one would believe what it is made of unless you showed them your progress photos.

I didn't know you can shape the candles with oil. And the granite color is perfect for them. I really like how they turned out. They look real.

Actually, the whole boat looks like a real pirate boat!

Thank you for sharing! It was amazing watching you make this artwork!

You're right. The people who have seen the ship, have asked me what material I did it with, and when I tell them that it is made of unicel, they do not believe me, until I show them the photos of the process. Thanks for commenting, I'm glad you liked it, and yes, I think I'm the only one who uses oil to shape boat candles hahaha

Wow! That is one amazing decoration. I would be so proud if I can make something like that and I definitely will display in on a table where everyone could see and admire it :D.
                     
Congratulations for your curie vote. You definitely deserve a lot of support for this boat ^_^.

Currently the boat is decorating my room. Thank you very much for your comment and for your good wishes. Thanks for the support. I am very happy with the curie vote.

You managed to create an originally designed boat with simple, common materials! Great work, the varnish does give it an antique, vintage touch. Congrats on the Curie upvote!

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@Zoe Anavid#9686). This personal addition to my article can be of great value.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.

Zoe (@curie curator)

Thank you very much for the support. I am happy to have been nominated in the next authors presentation. Thanks thanks.

¡Esto es lo mejor que he visto en el año! un barco hecho con cosas tan simples, tienes el poder de ver más allá, un trozo de anime se convirtió en esta gran obra. Me encantó el toque que le dio la corteza de madera, lo hace ver como un barco que ha navegado decenas de años en el océano. Le mostré las fotografías a mi papá y me preguntó que en tienda vendían eso, dijo que es un barco muy elegante y atractivo. Ya encontré respuestas a porqué tenías días sin publicar, y es que estabas realizando esta maravilla de arte, valió la pena el tiempo y esfuerzo que usaste para crearlo. No me cansaré de decirte que aparte de ser un gran escritor también eres un gran artista.

Tienes razón, la corteza le dio una apariencia como de un barco que ha navegado cientos de años. Me contenta mucho que se lo hayas mostrado a tu padre y que le haya gustado. Gracias por tus palabras, cada vez que las leo me motivo. Son un bonito combustible.

Wow, really detailed work. I guess you had to work so hard to make it. Well done. It's really amazing. I cannot believe that you made it so realistic and you used only recycling materials.

It was really strenuous hahaha a very hard job, but it was worth it. Thanks for your comment, it makes me happy that you liked it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pluridimensional from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That is really beautiful work, looking at your final result it is difficult to imagine that you started very simple with foam board cutting and sanding it, so much time and love you have given to details, like cannon and the little hatch over them. Also the most important in sailing boats are sails you created them so well and made an impression of full speed going with blown up sails. Like the details of the stern of boat. Lovely symbol of sailors.

Thanks for taking the time to comment like this. It shows that you appreciated the details very well. A hug..

Not only details my weak spot is sailing ships and boats, I love them, living at sea side that may be made its trick too. So your creation caught my eyes too :)

How rich it must be to live by the sea. Thanks for comment.

Hola @pluridimensional! Su publicación ha sido presentada en @artzone cortesía de @gvand

Thanks for your important support.

Hi pluridimensional,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you infinite @curie.

This is astounding work. You are so creative with the diverse materials and talented to get them to combine so well.

I know what you mean about continuing at the time of inspiration even if it is the middle of the night. I am a writer and often the inspiration comes at odd hours. I'm so glad you took the time to photograph that moment. The bark paneling is amazing to see.

Thank you for showing this awesome project. You are very inspiring to me.

Thanks to you for that very rich comment. It fills me with emotion to know that my work inspires you. "We have to love the nigth" is a phrase that I use a lot, because it is strange that in the nigth the most beautiful words of a writer come out. Greetings.

I am a night wanderer, and I love to be out when no one else is there. A lot of people are afraid, but it's one of my best times. I hope I see more of your work and I am so glad to be connected to you :)

I am also happy that steemit has allowed me to meet someone like you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31