Tumbling Red

in #art7 years ago (edited)

redflowers thumb.jpg

Red geraniums

On my travels in France today I noticed red geraniums tumbling out of window boxes, this beautiful cascade of red seemed to be everywhere I looked. Their colour radiated in the heat of the day, a gorgeous vivid red with hints of pink.

When I returned back to the gîte I found a shady spot in which to sit and make a drawing of the red geraniums that were trailing out of the window box at the kitchen window. Using paint I tried to capture the vibrancy of their colour and gentle movement in the warm breeze.

Process of making

redflowers process.jpg

Pelargonium /ˌpɛlɑːrˈɡoʊniəm/ is a genus of flowering plants which includes about 200 species of perennials, succulents, and shrubs, commonly known as geraniums (in the United States also storksbills). Confusingly, Geranium is the botanical name (and also common name) of a separate genus of related plants often called cranesbills. Both genera belong to the family Geraniaceae. Linnaeus originally included all the species in one genus, Geranium, and they were later separated into two genera by Charles L’Héritier in 1789.
Source Wikipedia

'Tumbling Red' 2017

redflowers holdenh.jpg

Water-based paints on paper

Sort:  

Lovely painting with very beautiful colours! 🌸🙂

I have a non-artist question: When you are painting something that grows with some abandon like those geraniums, do you paint with abandon or a sense of abandon? Or do you have to focus to make everything still and controlled while you paint? Or does that transfer of action to the page come more naturally, by habit and practice, so that you don't really notice it? Thanks.

I'm a strong believer that the energy that you put into work shows, so for a subject like this that is moving and tumbling I will have a quick movement to my strokes. I build up layers of colour and detail rather than working on a small section at a time. For me it is not about creating a copy of what is in front of me but trying to capture a feeling and sense of the moment.
I hope that makes sense!

That makes a lot of sense, and thanks for explaining. You've developed good control of your technique, even when your paint quickly. The energy does show!

Lovely painting! And red geraniums are just so utterly French in some way... perhaps because I remember them well from all the times we spent in France when I was a little kid.

For me it was one of those things where you notice one and suddenly you see them everywhere. A beautiful distraction!

That beauty !!!, congratulations lady @opheliafu for this beautiful work, I really like the color combination, thank you very much.
Have a good weekend week

Thank you @jlufer. It's been a beautiful day here, I hope things are well with you too.

Lovely and so very vibrant! Thanks for sharing

A pleasure to share, thank you for your lovely comment(s)!!

Hi Ophelia! I'm just starting out here on Steemit and your post was the first to catch my eye. I love geraniums, my grand-father brings me some every year and never misses a chance to tell they are his favourites. Your painting made me think of him. I really appreciate the style in which you represented these flowers and I wanted to take a second to let you know. Keep 'em coming! Have a good one.

Wow that is an amazing comment- and welcome to steemit!

I was just saying to someone today that the smell of geraniums make me think of my grandma, in spring she always had the cuttings growing on window sills.

beautiful as always, I appreciate every single one of your posts. Upvoted and already followed

That is very kind of you to say, thank you very much @themevlog

Another great piece. Resteemed.

Thank you for the resteem!

You are very welcome. We artists have to stick together.

The flowers are as so beautiful as your drawings.

These flowers are very beautiful, they add lovely accents of colour to summer days!

The beauty and color of nature is so exquisite and perfect that it is difficult to grasp its essence but I think that you have managed to hoard part of it

Hello . Dear Friend . Happy day . Beautiful drawing of these flowers

my friend I hope to get the support of your vote here this is an honor
https://steemit.com/steemit/@mars9/and-now-tell-me-if-the-decision-in-your-hand-to-install-the-time-machine-and-travel-to-the-future-without-return

That's a great post, it's a real interest of mine.

Thanks for the wonderful words

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51