You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tumbling Red

in #art7 years ago

I have a non-artist question: When you are painting something that grows with some abandon like those geraniums, do you paint with abandon or a sense of abandon? Or do you have to focus to make everything still and controlled while you paint? Or does that transfer of action to the page come more naturally, by habit and practice, so that you don't really notice it? Thanks.

Sort:  

I'm a strong believer that the energy that you put into work shows, so for a subject like this that is moving and tumbling I will have a quick movement to my strokes. I build up layers of colour and detail rather than working on a small section at a time. For me it is not about creating a copy of what is in front of me but trying to capture a feeling and sense of the moment.
I hope that makes sense!

That makes a lot of sense, and thanks for explaining. You've developed good control of your technique, even when your paint quickly. The energy does show!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68331.57
ETH 2650.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69