Shoggoth Cycle #4 - Church of Evil

in #art7 years ago (edited)

...excerpts from a tattered journal found in a burnt down research facility in Antarctica.

Inside the lab, next to the Shoggoth detention chamber, I paused and contemplated. I brought back into my mind all the memories of my fateful first meeting with the bubbling horror, trying to find some detail I missed. And yes! When the thing oozed from its black hole amidst the virgin ice, there was a hint of light, barely making it behind the pulsating mass of the Shoggoth.

I hurried back to the hole, carrying the fire agent in hands trembling with excitement. I had to see how the agent would affect whatever lied there, emitting the faint light. Going deeper in the hole, I found myself in a cave filled with eggs. All proportions were distorted and there were no straight lines in there, a cold place corrupted by the unholy presence of these creatures incubating over thousands of years, biding their time until they heard their calling...


"...found myself in a cave filled with eggs..."

And in the middle of the cave, defying all geometry and gravity, there was a vertical entrance right through the egg-ridden floor, leading downwards, like an open maw of Hell. The gate and the passage were dark red, in the color of blood, suggesting what might follow should I dare to venture forth. It was difficult to tell whether that structure was made by the hand of some blasphemous being or if it was a natural manifestation of the alien nature of those creatures and their creators. A Church of Evil, formed of dark deeds and dreams of carnage made physical as an infested reality blended with ours.

Yet, my thrill was beyond measure, I was at the brink of a huge discovery, the key that might unlock the sturdy door that haunted me. I needed that breakthrough! Holding the fire agent, I braved the entrance and went inside...

Image00002.jpg

Image00003.jpg

Image00004.jpg

all pictures are fractals created by me in JwildFire


The Shoggoth Cycle:


The Hunt for the Shoggoth is Over
Discovery of the Living Fire
Infusing the Fire Agent to Shoggoth Matter

Sort:  

Thanks, may the Old Ones look favorably upon you when the Stars are Right again!

This post has received a 0.81 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @nyarlathotep.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43