Mazda RX7 FD illustration, process and video timelapse

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello there folks

As promised I have a new and original art post, my third within a week. Which is total overload for me but excited for this unusual occurrence : -)

I'm following up my previous illustration of the Nissan Skyline Gtr for @nelkeljdm.
20180618_233431_0001.jpg
The task is to create an anime re-style of his awesome Mazda RX7 FD and the partner image to the Nissan GTR

After discussing with @nelkeljdm about which car to-do next, he picked out some amazing photos taken by @garethb who created some seriously cool light wand photography of the RX7.

We settled on a front view to compliment the Nissan gtr rear view.
IMG_2327_-_Copy_Custom-2.jpg

RX7 Final Image with GTR
pixlr_20180618234158697.jpg

This time I painted the image with my iPad and Apple Pencil using the application Procreate. Its actually the first image I created with the iPad and really was an enjoyable process. Having the photograph as a base meant that I could concentrate on the style rather then the technicalities of creating a new angle from scratch.

Timelapse of my process, sped up considerably, the line work and shapes took alot of small refinements which doesn't come across in the video

Detail crop
IMG_0010_20180618225502316.jpg

Breakdown
I started by drawing the main outline for the car, I wanted to go for a bold and striking look for the rx7.
I refined the blue outline over and over until I was happy with the shapes. Once the outline had solidified, I moved on to the highlights across the body. I added the blue highlight around the white reflection to create a vibrant image.
pixlr_20180618230510148.jpgr

As the image quality increased I started to play with the background colours. By far the most complex part of this image has been the alloy wheels. I selected a limited colour palette to help create that anime style used across the car. Breaking this rule for the background as I wanted contrast between the sky and car body.
To finish the image, I used a soft airbrush to add subtle gradients across the flat colours.

pixlr_20180618231126783.jpg

Final image
IMG_0010_20180618235254042.jpg

This was a fun project :) and thanks to @nelkeljdm for providing the opportunity to paint his insanely cool cars.
It was outside my comfort zone but I think I can say that I learnt a lot in doing these illustrations.

A big shout out goes to uber talented @darrenclaxton for providing his music for the video, please check out his sound cloud page and his steemit blog

And that's me for now, thanks for viewing.
Nick aka @niko3d

Checkout my recent posts
Sunny monster
Tribal Candy

Sort:  

Trully amazing work buddy! You definitely deserve a cookie. :) Really awesome drawing skill mate.

Lovely artistry @niko3d. These master pieces look as if real Nd legitimate but you ve made them by your art skills. Hats off😯😯😯😯 to your talent. Keep up the good work Nd thanks for sharing.

Ohhhhh I used to own and RX-7!!! Awwww I miss it. Love the pics, makes my little heart beat faster :) @niko3d

This post has just received lots of ♡♡♡#LOVE♡♡♡ and a 55.54% upvote from @haveaheart!

Thank you for your thoughtfulness in choosing this service.
@haveaheart donates 10% of all received profit to the Sri Sathya Sai Heart Hospital

Click here to make a difference
Delegate to haveaheart and support a charity that really cares.
Daily payouts for delegators are 85%.
(Be sure to leave at least enough SP undelegated that your account is still usable.)

hah4.gif

Hello haveaheart!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

@niko3d you've outdone yourself... Thank you buddy! This is awesome!!

Thanks @nelkeljdm :) great fun and a cool project Todo also :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by niko3d from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49