Sunny Monster Art Process and Timelapse.

in #art6 years ago

Hello Steemians
I'm kinda excited about this post, it's rare that I have 2 art posts in one week. Actually I will tell you all a little secret... I have another art post coming up in the next two days...but shh it's a secret.
20180617_192101_0001.png

Anyways enough teasing, let's get the show on the road.

This piece like my previous one, is related to my works Creative Challenge, where they kick off a theme comprising of two words. The challenge if we choose to accept it, is to be creative using those words to Inspire you. They picked the words Yummy Sunny. This is what I came up with.

The Sunny Monster
Yummy_Sunny.jpg
So the idea of an imaginary Sunny Monster about to sneak attack his best buddy who's been him ignoring all night popped into my head.

Its was a refreshing bit of art to make, I utilised my iPad and Apple pencil with the app Procreate.
I have a short timelapse of the process below and breakdown to follow right after.

Breakdown
I began by very roughly sketching in the idea, starting with the kid as centre of the image. With the idea that the monster would frame him with a cast of soft sunlight.

Image 1 to 3 covers the sketch stages and colour block out. What you will notice with my art, I don't get precious about the line work. I find that I'm happier to change my art and avoids it getting too tight. I like to use the paint and lighting process to clarify how heavy my line work needs to be.

pixlr_20180617165302976_20180617203355168.jpg

Stages 3 to 6
I stuck to using Procreates gouache paint brush for the colour and pencil for the line work which keeps this in line with a traditional style. I wanted to focus on shadow and light in this image, I wasn't looking for super refined rendering of the characters so the over all ambiance became the focus. As the image evolved, I introduced stronger shadows as you can see in image 6. This gave the image more contrast over all.

I was careful to keep the playful vibrancy intact, it's a light hearted image that's just on the edge of having some drama. The viewer will be thinking friend of foe? Hopefully the style and lighting might indicate a less ominous result, maybe along the lines of monster inc.

pixlr_20180617165302976_20180617203421707.jpg

Finally since the monster is our main light source in the scene, I removed the outlines around him and let him glow. The last touches where to add a little post processing to amplify the warm glow around the monster. For completness here's the final image once again.
Yummy_Sunny.jpg

Thanks for viewing :-) once again a massive thanks to @jeffandhisguitar for providing the music in the video above. Check out his blog for more awesome tunes!
Cheers
Nick aka @niko3d

Checkout my latest post Tribal Candy Timelapse and Process
Don't forget that upvotes and resteems are always appreciated by authors for posts you love :)

Sort:  

well... you picked a good subject, since you really have this whole lighting thing down so well... ;)

heh... and that soundtrack just creates so much suspense :P

Yeah it really does :)
Had to watch it from start to finish :)

Love that tune :D will have some new tracks from @jeffandhisguitar for my next timelapse videos, maybe another guest appearance from @darrenclaxton too, both guitar and musical hero's in there own rights.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by niko3d from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @veryspider to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

YES

Splendid once again buddy :D
Thanks!

Ere I have a shed load more tunes gone up on my choon.
Feel free to browse and wonder :D
https://choon.co/playlists/0llc8d8m5m5/jeffs-covers

Cheers @jeffandhisguitar, whoop what a sweet set of tunes indeed ;-) might need to mix things up soon with your permission of course :D

Be my guest buddy.
A match made in heaven f sure :D
Sending bumps to you and your fam :)

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97