Nissan Skyline Gtr illustration, process and video timelapse

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hey folks

It's my favourite time, it's art post time :-)
Today I'm sharing an illustration and process for an image I created for the mighty @NelkelJDM

pixlr_20180604204647367_20180604205411678.jpg

I had been chatting to NelkelJDM about his car collection, which hit some mega nostalgia for me... playing good old Gran Turismo on the PlayStation 1.
download.jpeg
He mentioned he had been looking for someone to illustrate his cars for a nice big print he could hang in his garage.
So after I thought about it, I agreed to step out my comfort zone, and took on the legendary Nissan Skyline GTR.

Taking one of his photos and turning it into an anime style illustration.

NelkelJDM Skyline photo
gtr_00.jpg

Final Illustration
gtr_12.jpg

Super Quick Timelapse of my Process

Close up
gtr_12_20180604213053609.jpg

This was an interesting challenge, thankfully @NelkelJDM had a favourite photo of his car. Which meant I could concentrate on the style and illustration itself rather then re-imagining the car in a difficult to reproduce angle.

I painted this with PaintStorm Studio, using a variety of brushes and pens. I asked @NelkelJDM what sort of look he wanted and he pointed to various anime style vehicles. Thankfully Paintstorm Studio has a great brush mark stabilisation mode, so it's smooth flowing lines made my life a little easier.

pixlr_20180604184651150.jpg
For me the key to the image, is using a limited palette but allow for a subtle edge blend then using the white outlines to really bring fresher look to the usual anime style.

Taking a slightly looser approach to the line work also gives it some extra life. Finally overlaying a custom gradient and adding a layered haze effect of the image just makes it pop.

This was a fun image to create and I hope it's does the real car some justice :)

Big thank you to @NelkelJDM for the opportunity to paint his skyline gtr, also a shout out @jeffandhisguitar for providing his great music on my video.

Thanks for viewing
Nick aka @niko3d

Don't forget to upvote and resteem posts you love, it's always appreciated by the post authors :)

Sort:  

@niko3d This is really amazing stuff man, I'm so glad we made contact on Steemit and can't wait to get this printed out for my garage. Thank you once again, I really appreciate all the efforts :)

That's the magic of steemit, connections are made and cool collaborations can happen at any moment in time. Glad you trusted me in making a shiny bit of art for your garage :D cheers @nelkeljdm

@garethb Check out what @niko3d did with the picture you took of my GT-R :)

Damn, this picture takes me back a bit. Was probably one and a half years ago now? Remember it being hot as hell that day.

Awesome work @niko3d!

Great photos too @garethb , thanks for the kind comments guys :)

Maate banging !!!! What an awesome designer you are Niko! :)
Hope you are well bruh and let's catch up with a chat when you have time.
Thanks for using my tunes :)
Much love bro.

Cheers mucho Jeff, definitely should catch more often :D My vids are always 10 times better with yer tunes ;-)

Ahh thanks niko.
I can say my tunes aren't as good without your visuals :D
Fist bumps sent man.

Nah your music can stand-alone :D but my visuals look/sound way better with your music. Fist bump back...booom

I'm impressed !!

Thanks for nice feedback.

This is super cool! Of course, I'm a huge Skyline fan, who isn't? If you know anyone who doesn't like a Skyline then let them drive one and they'll shut up.

Happy to share your work @niko3d you did a fantastic job presenting it with the timelapse. Looking forward to seeing more of this type of thing from you.

Agree on the skyline :D cheers for the great comment and resteem! :-)

IMG_1728.JPG
Excellent job, on your work there brother...looks good, i felt the interior could use some colour, loving our time at Easydex...great work on some of your work at Easydex...we should do like a car contest,with Easydex.

Rules;

  1. No Pink

Haha keeping it pink! Cheers dude

Amazing job Niko ! This soo made me want one for myself as well. :D
Really nice job anime'in it, made it look soo good and just.... Rawrrr

Totally earns a resteem, Steem on buddy!

Sweet :D thanks @warrkin if it's making ya rawrrr then I've done my job ;-) cheers for the resteem too!

Awesome illustration! Great job :) Upvoted!

That's badass Niko, I'm gonna send fuzzy to visit this <3

Awe thanks for sending the fuzzy :)

This post has just received lots of ♡♡♡#LOVE♡♡♡ and a 51.28% upvote from @haveaheart!

Thank you for your thoughtfulness in choosing this service.
@haveaheart donates 10% of all received profit to the Sri Sathya Sai Heart Hospital

If you would like to delegate to @haveaheart we would appreciate the support and you will be contributing to a wonderful cause. Our delegators receive 85% and receive daily payouts.

Click here to delegate! (Be sure to leave at least enough SP undelegated that your account is still useable.)

#haveaheart

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61