More About The Drawing Phase Within Another Commission

in #art7 years ago

Lind cover photo.JPG
detail of proposed design

Recently I’ve been posting about the drawing phase of my pool house mosaic commission

https://steemit.com/art/@natureofbeing/inside-the-drawing-phase-of-a-mosaic-commission
https://steemit.com/art/@natureofbeing/2-inside-the-drawing-phase-of-a-mosaic-commission
but since I actually have a few projects in the drawing stage, I’d like to show another one that also uses the natural world as a subject.

Usually the phases of my projects are naturally spread out so that I’m creating a new design for one and cutting another and shipping something else alongside the office and pr/marketing and I’m not sure it’s ever happened until now that I’m working on 4 new project designs all at once!

What this means is that I’m engaged solidly all day long in drawing and design decisions and specifically with inception. The beginning of every mosaic begins with taking an abstract notion, concept and putting it into physical form which is both challenging and exciting. Even a year ago I don’t think I would have been able to manage this kind of creative intensity but somehow now I have the focus and it’s going well so far.

nook.jpg
17" tall alcove space where the mosaic will be installed

This is a very small mosaic of a little more than 1 square foot but it’s a precious little piece. My clients have this little inset alcove in their 1930s Tudor home in Portland. It’s location is very central in the house so that even though it’s in a hallway, it’s seen constantly. In their words, “it’s the center of our home” and people wind up noticing this little alcove space a lot anyway so better to make it worth looking at.

They want an homage to love and to nature. Rather than to include actual hearts - which was a suggested possibility - I chose for the foreground the heart shaped leaves of Hostas which grow exceedingly well in Portland, Oregon’s Maritime climate.

Lind drawing, tulip revision.JPG

The specific birds - American Goldfinch (yellow), the Red-Breasted Nuthatch (top), Black-capped Chickadee - the Dogwood tree and Tulips were chosen by the clients.They also liked roses and lupine flowers but neither worked well alongside the dogwood blossoms so I opted for the simple and elegant tulip and some grasses. I’ve had one eye on keeping this piece from becoming too “sweet”; I wanted the imagery to feel natural and not too frilly or fussy. I’m definitely straddling the line though and this piece is already much sweeter than I’m usually comfortable with.

Lind nuthatch, goldfinch.JPG

At about 17” tall, it offered a small canvas to work with. Despite my best efforts, there are far more tiny pieces than I intended. These tiny pieces add lots of hours onto the making at every stage and if they aren’t done just right they wind up confusing the viewer’s eye.

Once I came up with the imagery and composition (placement of the visual elements), I needed to decide how to divide up the background. If I were to leave the pieces of clay around and between the images whole, they would never fit together after firing. Looking below at the space I've roughly outlined in blue you can see how at the lower right it hooks around a leaf. Once the clay body has undergone its 6% shrinkage that kind of space makes it impossible to fit the leaf into.

FullSizeRender (20).jpg

The solution is to cut up the background. In this case I kept the cuts minimal for stylistic reasons.
Here is an overlay showing these mostly horizontal cuts with a few others as necessary.

Lind drawing overlay lines.JPG

The background cuts are important in creating the style of this piece which calls for an airy contemporary kind of feel. Another option would have been to use the small grid background like I used in my Rose Garden mosaic from 2008. This creates a much more Ancient mosaic feel which isn't quite right for the alcove mosaic.

04 RFG Rose room  copy.jpg
small detail from my Rose Garden Mosaic

Once this is approved by my clients the cutting in clay will begin! Stay tuned for more soon.
Thanks for supporting my process, my work, my blog! With the simple act of supporting creatives here, we are all creating a new paradigm.

FOOTER.jpg

giphy.gif
Gif by @stellabelle

Sort:  

I was listening to the Rebecca Solnit On Being interview, which was released today, as I read through this. Meditating with you on your process, as I read, while also listening to her in exchange with Krista Tippet, it occurred to me that you're the @sndbox Rebecca Solnit! Thanks again for these posts, for reminding followers how to engage in commerce with some soul.

well now that's a huge compliment! I'm a huge fan of On Being and will give this episode a listen. Thanks so much for the kind words and the support.

It's like a detailed analysis of a mosaic creation! Everything is covered from A to Z. It's way more technical than what people may think once admiring the finished product.
I love the little alcove and how you're able to fit so many different elements in your creation. I'd probably panic and draw a stickman holding a flower with a heart cloud above his head! (and call it modern art 😎)
Super interesting to see how you manage the background as well.

Question for you: do you have a way of signing your pieces?

LoL to your stickman holding a flower...somehow I think your stickman would be the most awesome of stickmen ;-)

Thanks for your enthusiasm and support and yes more goes into mosaic than meets the eye as you well know!! I do sign my pieces using a tiny tile with my initials imprinted into it. I'll show a photo of this close up at some point - thanks for asking I hadn't thought of sharing this part.

@osm0sis and her to the point questions :D I feel so silly I didn't think of asking this all those months :P

I'm filled with questions. I can give you a few of mine if you want 😆

We exchange plenty on @sndbox already I think :P :D we're complementary Sandbox ladies ahahahaha :D

Looks very detailed and certainly time consuming. How long do you think it will take you to completely finish it?

I think I'll finish it over about 2 more weeks. It will be about 15 hours of actual work but with firings and odds and ends it has to happen over a stretch of time. Thanks for your support!!

OMG, this is amazing artwork! Such details and such skill! Really nice to see this, thanks:-)

I've been looking through your posts and work - I love it and look forward to watching this piece progress - you have a new eager follower.

so glad to hear it, thanks for your support and for taking the time to look at some older posts!

Ohhh my goodness this is so gorgeous already can’t wait to see what your going to be doing next! It’s amazing if have done mosaic work also but on a much smaller scale then this with broke tile... I honestly never plotted out the piece like this it’s really stunning already.
Following to continue viewing this pieces artist journey

Rose Garden !!!!!!! I WANTS DIS!!!!!!!!! :D <3

So glad you like :-). The rose garden mosaic fills the room and creates a whole environment that I have to admit is really something special to be within. If you come to NYC I'll meet you and take you there. xo

WE SHOULD TOTALLY MEET IN NYC -I'm not shouting I'm just super excited haha! Challenge for 2018...accepted!!!! :D :D :D

GREAT, I'D LOVE IT!! I AM shouting, lol just kidding :), but truly this would be great.

Wow :D I love the details. And the rose garden too! Following, looking forward to see more of this

thanks so much, much more to come!

nice work. I like your work!

Help me man please come to my blog please

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45