#2 Inside the Drawing Phase of a Mosaic CommissionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

IMG_8186.JPG
the small scale composition

The process of developing a working drawing for the large scale mosaic I'm making continues…

You may have seen my last studio post which was about the initial steps in the drawing phase for a large scale ceramic mosaic commission that I have underway in my studio.

First I want to note that it’s been more than a year since I’ve been challenged to produce a large scale mosaic and I’m enjoying the challenge of it more than I ever have before. I always try to do my best work but for whatever reason this time I have the confidence to push myself further reworking the imagery until it feels right.

me drawing.JPG

I worked out the basic imagery and concept at the smaller scale (header image) so now with the life-size drawing my focus is with defining each of the forms as well as the tile shapes within each form. This is how - along with color which comes later - I can produce dimension, perspective and texture, and it’s also largely where the personality and presence of each object is created.

2 palms.JPG
date palm, coconut palm and one of the many stray cats that hang out on Hawaiian beaches

I’m using lots of reference photos to be sure I understand the way these plants look and grow, but I always want to move beyond a realistic illustration. Realism and illustration are both beautiful in their own right, but here I’m trying to capture a mood, an experience that will evoke joy and wonderment at this vast and varied earth we inhabit; a reminder of the beauty and sweetness in life, and sometimes abstractions and distortions are very effective tools to convey this.

IMG_8267.JPG

For example, the scale won’t be accurate - some flowers will be enormous, some small, and the animals are not the right size relative to each other. I want the Hibiscus flowers in the foreground for instance to be huge. By making them much larger than they should be and positioning just right, the blossoms give the feeling of exaggerated lush fertility. Basically I’m making each thing -plant, animal, water, etc… - recognizable but playing with size, shape, and color to create an overall effect.

lower left.JPG
Calla Lillies and Hibiscus plants

red bird.JPG
I was sure to include the White-Rumped Shama bird which has a beautiful song

I’ll admit that this drawing feels like it's taking too long. This is partially because I have other work I have to fit in to my days, but also because this process is about making decisions at every moment and decisions always take more time and creative bandwidth than I imagine they will. I reminded myself of this today and when reviewing the hours I've worked on it, realized that actually it's going along just fine. My perception of time vs actual don't always match so I'm glad that I keep a tally of actual time spent (also tallies I keep for each project cumulatively help me determine the cost for future commissions).

The day in day out rhythm of working on it has leaves me feeling really good each day. Most days I give about 4 hours to it and this time is wholly absorbing and satisfying; my mind quiets and I melt into making the lines, the forms, the gesture of whatever I’m drawing.

figuring out the palette 03.jpg

I switch over to working out the color every few days as the vision is coming together. Next, will be drawing the tile shapes to define the water, sand and sky, then inking in the whole drawing and lastly showing it to the client for approval. I'll show you all all of that in about a week. Then we move on to cutting it all out in clay.

Thank you for following my process, my blog, please stay tuned for more!
FOOTER.jpg

giphy.gif
gif by the one and only @stellabelle

Sort:  

always a fan of art, really nice and great effort, upvoted and followed.
please go through my latest post if possible. Thanks :)

thank you @applesspatrick

Yes appreciate dear @applesspatrick, @natureofbeing all post are really great.

This looks beautiful and your drawing is so good. So looking forward to the final product. I am sure this will be as good as or even better than the mermaid mosaic. Keep us posted with the in-process photos please.

thanks for your enthusiastic support, I really appreciate it! more soon :-)

oh my. I'm not looking at the finished product and yet I'm already in awe. the time and attention you put into the details is amazing. In love with the Shama bird.

thanks so much @dandalion, so glad to hear it! much more to come since it's a big project.

Amazing work! I really enjoy seeing how these mosaics come together. I can't imagine how much time will go into this piece when all the different steps are done. The drawing could be a finished work in itself - I'm excited to see how it's converted to the clay.

thank you @erb, lots of time and seeing it transform into mosaic form IS pretty great and I'll show lots of that since it's a long process. Thanks for your support!

The details on the drawing are amazing. That bird!
I am dying to see how you create perspective and dimension with each placement of tesserae, as well as the tools that you use and the whole process. Do you think you could make a small video? (pretty please 😊)

(side note: when you finish with the mosaic what do you do with the life-size drawing? I'm hoping you have a giant coloring party)

Thank you @osm0sis! It's a good idea to make a video, I'll see if I can ask Rob to make one of me. I've been thinking of making some posts that are more tutorial oriented which would be a good place for such a video. I have an old video that shows quite a bit if you want to see as well: http://ruthfrancesgreenberg.com/rfgportfolio-stu.html

By the time we're finished with the life-size drawing it's pretty beaten up and usually too much so for even coloring. We use it for putting all of the tesserae together so it gets really dirty and torn...well used for sure!

Oh yeah i can imagine that paper would get a little messy.
Yes to tutorials and more videos! You'd have at least one person interested to learn :) I'm off to watch your other one.
Update: just saw your video and read your biography. What a source of inspiration you are. Now I'm really looking forward to your potential tutorial videos.
I think I'll be done my post on ceramics and mosaics by tomorrow... promise not to laugh at me hahaha!! It's a joke compared to the work you do!

You are so kind, thanks for taking the time to watch the video, it's an old one but shows the process more than stills can. And by the way, your mosaic was no joke, it is truly gorgeous!

Great post ! Beautiful project ! I'm new on steemit and glad to find so creative people here ! Follow and resteem 😃👍🎨

thank you @jaro-art, welcome to steemit! There are lots of us here so it should be easy to find your people.

And also your work is epic!!!!

thank you so much :-))

One day i hope to get a stella gif. Damn.

I've seen a few she's made and all are excellent, I highly recommend it! They cost 10SBD and you get it very quickly.

A greatest art make change you heart that is your strength. i seeing your all of the paper from that i obviously inspired to them @natureofbeing

Wow... there's just such an amazing amount of work that goes into your pieces! I really enjoy looking at the process as it unfolds. I also have absolutely no idea how you would go about pricing a commission like that... but then "large scale installations" is a part of the art world I have never tried working with. Do you have an actual process for valuing your work, or is it more of a "$X feels about right for this?"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43