Inside the Drawing Phase of a Mosaic Commission

in #art7 years ago

studio.jpg

Large commissions are a gift. The longer time frame allows us to dive more fully into a project and I find that my focus is better than it is when divided among several small projects. I do still have other projects right now, but this big one is the main event in my day.

The stakes are higher as well though, and a large scale project is harder to pull off well. Throughout my career I’ve had some shining moments and some dimmer in the form of large scale commissions and while I wish they were all stellar, I have learned a great deal from the less successful works.

With a larger tile project I certainly spend a lot more time in the design and drawing phase. The designing process for me is always about defining the concept specifically; sort of pinning it down. There are always many fluid ideas circling around in me but when pencil meets paper, I have to take the images and ingredients from my senses and put them into cohesive form. It’s a narrowing process of choosing one impulse, image, and letting the others go. It reminds me of how when planting a row of carrots, one drops many seeds and then thins out the sprouts leaving only a third of those to grow into the full-size the carrots for your salad.

This culling requires confidence and agility with the creative process and while in it I feel incredibly alive and alert with a tinge of excitement-fear.

My current mosaic commission began with the client’s desire to have a focal point, a mood setter for her pool house. The pool house has an indoor-outdoor feel and is designed to function as an indoor extension of the pool area where my mermaid mosaic is installed.

My client is special because there is an ease to our process together. She really enjoys this process of brainstorming and collaboration and this pleasure makes all the difference. She and her interior designer Barbara Sumner came up with the idea of a beach scene having a Hawaiian feel to it. At that point I was brought in and we all looked at photos of my previous work as well as inspirational photos to put together the concept. The purpose of the space is for relaxing and enjoying life so the mural needs to inspire and support this.

First I always start with loose thumbnail sketches; I like to just rapidly get onto paper any ideas I have circling around in my head from our meetings.
FullSizeRender (13).jpg

I also spent some time looking at botanical illustrations and textile prints and to research plants and birds of Hawaii.

Next I drew up some palm trees with plants to get the look, the feel I wanted. Plants, leaves, flowers are my favorite thing to cut in clay, the shapes and lines pull me into a rhythmic bliss while pulling the knife through the clay. It’s precisely this simple but beautiful feeling that keeps me coming back to this extremely labor-intensive clay work; I emerge shiny clean on the inside afterwards, every time.

FullSizeRender (14).jpg

I also made a few tests to see what some glazing ideas would look like:

FullSizeRender (15).jpg

With the client, a few additions were made - rocks with sea turtles, a cat, frog and more foliage on the left side to frame the piece - so I made another sketch.

FullSizeRender (12).jpg
inked and ready to be enlarged

The small drawing serves to show the client the basic idea and composition but all of the defining of the forms and tile shapes happens when I enlarge it to the size it will be - 7’ x 6’.

I enlarge it, tape sheets of vellum over it and using the basic composition from the enlarged drawing, I rework the forms and draw the tile shapes. At this point I think through all of the nuances of texture and sometimes color too.

IMG_8192.JPG

Now and for the next week or so I’m immersed in making this large drawing with an often used eraser in hand!

Thank you for supporting my blog, it’s a great pleasure to share my process and pieces of my studio and life with you. Happy Thanksgiving North Americans!

FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

while I wish they were all stellar, I have learned a great deal from the less successful works.

This is the kind of growth mindset that will see you continually improving and getting better in your art :-)

My client is special because there is an ease to our process together. She really enjoys this process of brainstorming and collaboration and this pleasure makes all the difference.

When I started reading this, one of the first questions that flashed into my mind was; how do you interpret the client's desires into your own creative process; and how frustrating is this stage?

I'd imagine quite a lot of people are not like your 'dream client' and often aren't sure what they want. So it's fascinating for me when you somehow take their indecision and start to create something they want.

Thank you for laying down the process, I love where you went from your test to the sketch below after the input.

In that test I really love the top left, the blue and pink shell look lovely together :-)

I can't wait to see the finished product, it feels like a real privilege to get a sneak peak like this...

Is it because you work in a studio and client's often see your work in progress, that you don't mind showing stuff before it's finished? I personally would be mortified at the thought of showing my disjointed creative process!

Cg

Thanks for your thoughtful questions and observations @cryptogee! First to answer your last paragraph, my process can also be very disjointed and not pretty! I used to be completely resistant and afraid to show my process partially because I don't always feel great about how things are going and partially because it felt personal and precious and I didn't want to "give it away" (people have often tried and sometimes in underhanded ways to get a "class" from me for free to learn how to do this work). Through posting on steemit though, I'm learning how to show my process in new ways that feel better to me and feel win-win.

Many if not most of my clients aren't local and I've always kept in touch with them during the making phase by sending photos, but now my relating of my process has expanded with them too as a result of what I've learned posting and I'm more transparent, light-hearted and confident about showing more.

And your question and comment -

how do you interpret the client's desires into your own creative process; and how frustrating is this stage?

I'd imagine quite a lot of people are not like your 'dream client' and often aren't sure what they want. So it's fascinating for me when you somehow take their indecision and start to create something they want.

This IS the challenge always and has a lot to do the success of a piece! It's also a good subject for a post ;-), but the short answer is that I love collaborating so creating a vision and a concept together can be really fun to do with a client but is MUCH easier when we have an easy connection. The design process always involves stop and start - I take a step and check to see if I'm barking up the right tree and if so take another few and check again. I used to fully complete several options in watercolor before showing a client anything and whew, what a lot of work and before I even got the project! Now I feel more confident about my simple and sometimes crappy thumbnail sketches and am willing to bring the client into my process more fully which is more fun for everyone. I get better all the time at the mind-reading and asking the right questions but the best pieces are usually a result of a client who trusts me.

Answering your questions really shows me just how much creating posts for steemit has helped me build more of an ease and confidence in how I relate to others in terms of my work - really invaluable!! Thanks so much for asking!

Awesome @natureofbeing thanks for those answers, it's good to hear that you've come along with the whole showing your work before it has been finished. I think as we progress and grow as creative people we carry slightly less fear and indecision with us each day, and that helps with confidence in showing things at an early stage.

The way you describe collaborating makes me realise that that is not only the hardest part of the process, but also the most fun part!

Cg

wow, looks really a large commission! It's always a pleasure for me when an artist share the work "behind the scenes", so thanks so much to share the drawing phase with us ^_^

thank you @silviabeneforti, I love hearing from you and really appreciate that you gave some time to my post :-)

What a wonderful design. When planning the size do you have to allow for shrinkage of the clay, or does it not make much difference?

Thank you @opheliafu, yes shrinkage has to be accounted for. Different kinds of clay have different percentages and we further enlarge the drawing for this percentage, and also trim specifiic shapes/pieces that will be tricky to fit together after firing.

oh my God the shells and the little flowers are SO cute!!
You never stop amazing me, you're incredibly talented!!!! :D

thanks so much @meanmommy33! Shells and flowers are so fun to make :-)
I'm really hoping this will be a good piece.

This post must have slipped by me. I always try to make a point of checking out whatever you put up now. So talented you are, and I totally understand focusing more on one main project than many small ones. That too is how I prefer to do things. That being said, it looks like you have your work cut out for you. How long do you think this one will take to complete?

lol, yes I sure do have my work cut out with this one and only 2-3 more months in which to do it. If I had my druthers, I'd work on this kind of thing over 6 months, but there are always construction schedules to work with or in this case, that's the amount of time that the cost will cover . It's really fun work though, for example yesterday I spent 5 hours drawing...jsut drawing a few plants and a palm tree! I couldn't believe how slow-going drawing can be even when it's going really well. Thanks for supporting my blog!

As long as you enjoy what you are doing, that is what matters most!

I don't know what to say, it's too good to be truth... I know exactly how hard it is to make something big like this and you did a great job... i am enjoying your work @natureofbeing.

thank you @mariska.lubis, so glad to have met you in the steemsugars channel we are mutual fans :-)

I am so excited to be following your mosaic posts and get some more tips. For some strange reason, I've always been drawn towards mosaics. My friends had to physically drag me out of Pompeii as the mosaics there were too beautiful I just couldn't leave! Same for the ones you find in Greece...
Thank you for bringing us along in the process of this original creation.

thank you @osmOsis :-), I too love mosaic and look at photos from Tunesian, Greek, Roman and Sicilian mosaics regularly. Someday I hope to see them in person!

nice post; you can see all the work that goes into it.

thanks, it is a lot of work and fun too!

Wow, amazing

thanks @teodora my new friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43