Mermaid Grand Finale: the Installation in action

in #art7 years ago

HT Pool from Ruth Greenberg on Vimeo.

A final post about my mermaid mosaic to finish out this week. This 1.34 minute video is a fun look at the installation team in action adhering this 144 square foot mosaic into the pool. There is one guy here whose job is simply to be a runner bringing section after section after section down into the pool for them to put together.

It took them several days of preparation and then 4 hours to do what you see in the video. It has yet to be grouted and the pool completed with plaster but I don't expect that to happen until next spring. Hawthorne Tile in Portland did an amazing job with their install, maybe the best I've ever seen. Their technical approach, attention to detail and the care they gave to keeping the aesthetic integrity blew me away, these people are masters.

Have a beautiful weekend everyone, I hope you enjoyed this 5 part series!
To see it beginning to end:
Parts 1, 2, 3 ,4

giphy.gif

FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

Oh my, this must be a fantastic water wonderland you've created. I would so enjoy swimming there. And I'm seeing your animated GIF for the first time, very much admiring you and your creative spirit. I'm upping and resteeming.

thank you @cabelindsay! I hope I get to attend a pool party there and swim too :-)

This is super cool! I love the timelapse progression :) and the mosaic series!

@sndbox had a Steemit workshop last monday and showed off your work to the group. It was awesome to show folks how you use Steemit as a resource to showcase creative process and product.

Oh wow, I'm so honored you showed my work! Big smiles here

This was such a huge project! Really incredible work, Ruth!

Thanks Eric :-)

Wow... and there it is, the final installation. Very cool to see the time lapse like that, and well done on such a huge project completed!

By the way, I owe you email... tomorrow, I promise!

thank you, yes finally complete. looking forward to a nw meet-up???

the amount of details of work that need to finish such a piece of art! Love the use of color, so pretty!

Oh wow! this beauty is finally installed. Such a lot of effort went into it. Love it and love your signature GIF by @stellabelle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43