Mermaid Mosaic Part 4, Completion!

in #art7 years ago

giphy.gif

First I'd like to give a giant thanks to @stellabelle for the awesome gif she made for me, I totally dig it.

Moving along, to the next steps in my series about making the large and involved Mermaid Mosaic.

If you haven't seen Parts 1, 2 or 3, I recommend at least scanning the images quickly to make sense of this project and our process.

face sf.jpeg
disregard the sheen of the tape over the tiles, it covers a lovely surface

Once all of the parts of the mosaic were cut from wet clay, bisque fired, then glazed and glaze fired, we put each section together. The tiles are held together with a face-adhesive that is like a giant sheet of tape that holds the tiles in place for the installers.

When most of the piece has been made and many sections assembled, we need to see what it looks like so we enlarged the drawing to full size. We tacked it together over 4' x 8' sheets of plywood to protect it and we also thought it would help with portability if needed. As it turned out, the sheets of plywood were far too heavy for 2 of us to move once we put the tile on it.

putting drawing together sf.jpeg

Next we took each section and lay it out together with the others over the drawing to be sure they fit and that all pieces were there. This was also a chance to do some more quality checking. I have a good sized studio but this 144 Square Foot piece was too big to put together in my studio without moving everything out. It was summer so we decided to do the lay out outside.

putting sections together outside sf.jpeg

Lucy always does all she can to be of help. I've often thought that if I could find a way to channel her huge desire to be useful into income generation, we'd be rich. She may be small but as with most terriers she's mighty and when she applies herself to something her ambition and work ethic are phenomenal.

outside with Lucy sf.JPG

setting sky outside.JPG

setting fish, tail outside sf.jpeg

After a week the weather turned so we had to move most everything out of my studio and do the remaining work on the floor inside. For a few days while we finished, I couldn't reach my office and no one - including our studio renters - could enter the building through the front door because the mosaic was in the way! As was the nature of this project...one bizarre obstacle after another. By this point though our senses of humor were in full force and we were rolling with the waves of it all.

It's nearly finished here, but if you look carefully you can see holes where tiles are missing and the paper shows through. There is also a sort of icky sheen over the whole piece and this is the tape. The installers will remove it to reveal a gorgeous surface.
setting in studio floor.JPG

The "map" with numbered sections:
set map.JPG

A year later, the installation team unpacked the mosaic at the site. When Rob and I arrived to go over details with them, they greeted us like celebrities shaking our hands and showering us with compliments- a very nice feeling after busting our asses!
Seeing the mosaic put together, we are gratified and pleased.

Here are all the numbered sections in the pool house on site awaiting good weather - not too sunny nor raining - for the installers to do their work.
installers preparing for setting sf.jpeg

Thanks for supporting my series, it's been fun to put this together to share with you! There will be one more installment which will be the installation video.

A Mermaid’s Song
by Anne Hunter

Now the dancing sunbeams play
On the green and glassy sea;
Come, and I will lead the way,
Where the pearly treasures be.

Come with me, and we will go
Where the rocks of coral grow;
Follow, follow, follow me.

Come, behold what treasures lie
Deep below the rolling waves,
Riches hid from human eye
Dimly shine in ocean's caves;

Stormy winds are far away,
Ebbing tides brook no delay;
Follow, follow, follow me.

FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

This the same project that had you and your partner practically pulling each other's hair out. Wow what a huge project! Holy smokes! Totally professional. I think that is fantastic that you can make a living from doing the art that you love. And the GIF @stellebella made for you. Very cool!

thankfully year later we can now laugh at how rough that project was to make and a pleasing result really helps :-)

thanks for following this series!

Thank you! It's been a pleasure following this series :)

Have a great day! -Dan

This is beyond spectacular! I'd love to learn how to do this! Resteeming!

thank you very much @crystalize, perhaps I'll make some tutorials in the future :-), and grateful for the resteem!

WOW! This turned out so amazing! I just can't believe the work that went in to this, you guys have a true talent! I'm sure the customer will be ecstatic when it's installed. How thick was the plywood just out of curiosity, it was hard to tell from the photo?

thanks so much @bluelightbandit and I really love hearing your reactions to each of these posts in the series, it's meant a lot to me. And you are correct, the customer IS ecstatic and is actually having me make a piece for the pool house wall behind where the tile saw is in the photo - needless to say I'm very pleased about this!
I think the plywood we used was 3/8 or 1/2". We were trying to keep it light in weight but strong enough to hold the tile if we wanted to move it. It bent too much in reality, was too heavy and very unwieldy when it came to moving it.

I was just wondering because I have carried many of sheets of plywood in my day and I know the slightest increase in thickness really increases the weight and I can only imagine how heavy that was. Congratulations again! 😊

you are so right...these get heavy very quickly and it was this project that taught this to me the hard way.

It's really an impressive work! Wonderful!!!! It's really a giant artwork and I can't image how much hard work there's behind it, you're very talented!

thanks so much @silviabeneforti, I love your blog and Paolo's too...it helps me to know you two are out there figuring it out how to live well and do your best work everyday!!

Another wonderful post on how to make mosaic ! What we people see is that beautiful art or beautiful tiles but what don't know the story behind it's formation. Thanks to you we can see from the beginning till the end.

thank you, so very true with so many things in this world isn't it! It's good to hear that you're interested in this process, it helps inspire me to keep showing it.

Amazing work. I can't believe how is it is. Just incredible. I am speechless because I have never seen a work of art so detailed. 🐓🐓

thank you @mother2chicks! the final installation video is up now too and it's a fun 1 minute

This is fab! This must have required artistry, science, math, passion, lots of labor and love. Really amazing work yet again @natureofbeing.

thanks so much for the kind comment :-)))))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44