Mermaid Mosaic part I

in #art7 years ago

Excerpt from Victor Hugo's The Ocean’s Song

O Ocean vast! We heard thy song with wonder,
Whilst waves marked time.
"Appear, O Truth!" thou sang'st with tone of thunder,
"And shine sublime!

WGzqB.jpeg

Last week I got an excited text from my client saying “it’s happening, come and see!”

Finally after over a year of sitting in boxes, a large swimming pool mosaic that completely consumed our lives during the spring of 2016 was being installed. Due to the technical challenges that arose and incredibly tight timeline, this proved to be one of the more stressful projects Rob and I have made during our 10 years of working together. We worked like dogs with many all-nighters, had some of our worst disagreements ever and very nearly broke up during one particularly long and trying day-night. We've worked under very difficult schedules to solve extraordinary problem after problem over the years, but this project presented a new level of decision fatigue and frustration and pushed us past our already extended limits.

So when this text came, Rob and I gave each other a meaningful look, got into the car and drove over as soon as we could. The tile installers had unpacked the boxes and laid out each section of tile in the adjacent pool house. When we arrived a group of the installers greeted us excitedly talking over each other and shaking our hands. Apparently they had argued over the privilege of unboxing and putting the mosaic together.

Rob and I breathed sighs of relief and soaked up the much needed praise.

out of the box sf.JPG

Rewind to 2 years ago, when a designer here in Portland contacted me about her client’s idea to do a large outdoor pool mosaic of “a mermaid on the half shell” as she put it. The client loved Botticelli’s birth of venus but wanted a more contemporary feel and story that pertained to her family.

As usual I began sketching out whatever ideas came up. Developing this design took me awhile because I wanted to find a way to create elegant imagery while still in keeping with their concept and my worries about it becoming “cartoony” stalled my confidence and design flow.

Here was the face portion of my sketch which wound up a little too childlike and had to be changed when redrawn:
original face drawing.JPG

We enlarged my sketchbook drawing to 1/3 of life-size to develop the details:
rob lifesize drawing.JPG

Simultaneously I put together the glaze palette and a sample maquette of the water to give the client and designer a sense of what I had in mind.
process palette.JPG

proces water sample.jpg

So far so good! Stay tuned for parts 2 and 3 of this project coming soon!
Thanks for supporting my blog, and as always I love your comments.

FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @natureofbeing! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is so amazing, your pictures....and the way you did it. I love this. You are incredibly talented. I must look on here to see if you have more works of your mosaic art.

thank you so much, really appreciate your kind words and support! Tons of my mosaics here on steemit from the last 12 months :-)

Wow! I cannot even begin to imagine the scale and complexity of what you undertook there... starting with how to even look at what you were doing, in perspective... from the top of a 20-foot scaffold?

Super impressed-- I've seen mosaics assembled from "existing" tile, but never a custom image on this scale.

thanks so much @reddragonfly :-)
We made it with no scaffold, just trusted that it would work and thankfully it did. More to come!!

That is frickin awesome Ruth! However it does make me wish I had a pool and a shit tonne of money, and I'd get you over to do one for me as well :-)

Cg

and boy would I love to make one for you! Thanks so much @cryptogee :-))

Wow that's no joke and one heck of a fantastic piece of art. So glad you and Rob were able to work it out and overcome the challenges. I hope this made your relationship stronger in the long run. Great post and thoroughly impressed with the quality of work you do! Wishing you.....and Rob a great day! -Dan

thanks so much Dan! I think we are stronger in our relationship and individually as a result of these challenges, but mostly they showed us what kinds of things we are no longer willing to do like to work those kinds of hours for an underfunded project! Really appreciate your words and support

It's good hear those challenges did in fact make you both stronger in the end. However I know what you mean, I once agreed on a project in S. Korea which turned into twice the hours and half the pay, and nobody wants that! I'll be around :) -Dan

It's good to hear those challenges did in fact make you both stronger in the end. However I know what you mean, I once agreed on a project in S. Korea which turned into twice the hours and half the pay, and nobody wants that! I'll be around :) -Dan

Twice the hours + half the pay= no good

Wonderful as always my friend. The road to perfection is often a hard one, I salute your dedication and as always I am awed by your talent

Have a lovely Sunday :D

thank you so much @handsolo!! So glad you're still here on Steemit. Have a lovely Monday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55