A Look at the Goings On in My Studio Today

in #art6 years ago

_OKO0980.jpg

Every so often I like to pick a day to give an overview of what’s going on in my studio on that particular day. This is a sort of virtual studio visit meets a day in the life of a ceramics studio as opposed to my usual in-depth look at a specific project or topic.

I am a ceramic artist who specializes in designing and making the kind of tile that factories can’t make because the work is too nuanced, detailed or the process of making doesn’t lend itself to large scale production. Some of my work is detailed mosaic like the "Mighty Louis" pool mosaic below, some of it is repeating designs, some art, some decorative, and all of it ceramic.

07 Louis mosaic.jpeg
in process, 2016, 5' diameter

In November and December I was designing for a pool house mural project, a fairly large piece at about 7’ x 6’. And when I heard that the builder would be changing the size of the space for the mosaic, I put the project aside to wait for these new dimensions.

P1000476.JPG
the drawing in process

A week ago I learned the mosaic size will be increased horizontally by 18” and vertically by 1-1/2”. Yikes. So Rob and I added the 1-1/2" to the bottom which was easy and then cut up the middle of the drawing to add in the extra horizontal space. We chose the middle because opening up the water and sky makes more sense visually than adding more thick plant life to the sides.

This was a frustrating and not particularly fun task, but it’s done and tomorrow I can begin drawing for this new area. Once finished, I’ll run it by the client and then begin cutting out the mural from clay slabs. I can’t wait for this and have been itching to get to this stage!

previously finished drawing cut apart and new space added
P1000688.JPG

Today I also bought about 1/4 of the clay we’ll need for it: (white earthenware)
IMG-8531.JPG

Meanwhile, Rob is working on our production tile collection called Cloud Porcelain which is carried through Ann Sacks Tile & Stone internationally. We’ve been getting new orders each day and he’s getting ready to ship out a small one of the Duals design in Ash Grey.

FullSizeRender (16).jpg

This collection is made with cast pigmented porcelain. The Duals are half glazed with clear and half raw porcelain that is sanded until very smooth to the touch. Below are Duals in Ash and next to it is this same design in Sky Blue from a few months ago.

IMG-8527.JPG FullSizeRender (15).jpg

The other endeavor that is taking lots of my time these days - aside from Steemit - is doing outreach to set up meetings with new potential clients during my trip to New York next week. Each trip I always try to meet with a few new interior designers and/or architects to introduce my work to them as well as to check in with a few existing contacts. I’ll also be visiting a lot with family and some friends too including some of my earliest Steemit friends which I’m excited about.

And lastly Rob and I are collaborating on a new mandala and he has been working on the carving for a sample of this. If it works out well - which I think it will - I will bring this on my trip to show as well.

IMG-8517.JPG

I hope you enjoyed this peak into our day! Stay tuned for more progress on the pool house mural this week and more!

As always, I am grateful for your friendship, support and comments!

giphy.gif

FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

Ok... This is maybe going to sound a little silly. I only have a little experience with slumping glass and somewhat more with gingerbread houses but... do you have problems when you bake porcelain with the pieces changing shape a little so that they don't fit together the exact way that cut them? Your pieces seem to be perfectly fitted and rounded on their edges in the dog piece so they look like they came out of the kiln without slumping... just curious about the process.

Oh yes, they REALLY change once they go through 2 firings!! We've learned to work with this, to make shapes that warp less, to work with the clay in ways that make it warp less and sometimes even have to remake pieces. It's a good question and the answer is too long for a comment, sometime I'll do a post on our anti-warping techniques and will tag you.

Please do let me know. I'm quite interested. I somehow doubt it would apply to gingerbread 😉 but I always love knowing how things work. It seems that there must be quite a trick to it.

You know the bad thing about being out on the road? I miss these awesome posts.
Crossing my fingers that your pool clients don't change their minds again... How frustrating it must be.. I'd hide a few stickmen in the extra drawing just to have a bit of fun :)
Cant wait to see the mandala.

ah your stick men comment made me burst out laughing, you're the best!!!

Hey.. Great sneak peak of your studio today. I am glad you were informed of the change in dimensions on time or else it would have been too hectic for you. I love the hound mosaic a lot. It's not my style but it is just too neat and adorable.

Thanks @sharoonyasir, that pooch is really an amazing dog which is why a mosaic that could be too cute becomes loveable ;-)), thanks for keeping in touch with my blog!

The pleasure is all mine honestly.

I love seeing other artists studios! I am obsessed with how they organize and use their spaces. I have even bought the various magazines which are just artists studios and how they are set up!

I love your space. Ever since I moved more digital I have made my studio space smaller, but I still have a larger space I can access in the Summer (it's too cold now.)

I love seeing how you have things taped up for the drawing process, the carved (not sure if that is the correct term) bit of carved floral clay, so amazing. And of course I Adore the dog!

Today I posted one of my older pieces when I was mainly a printmaker. And describing all the steps it takes in the physcial world has kind of made me miss that as well, but digital has been so good to me. However, now with Steemit, I wonder if it would be worth setting up my printmaking studio again just to make new things, docuement it just for Steemit. As if steemit is my 'client' as it is so fun to share and if people like it, as you know, then hey you earn a few pennies here and there.

Sorry I am rambling, but I just get so inpsired by other artists and their space and process. I really like your line of tile samples you showed, I really love foggy grey/blues.

Well, I have used up enough of your comment space. Have fun in New York and good luck meeting with designers and such.

Hi @Donnadavisart, I agree, it's SO great to see other's workspaces. I too have always had such a fascination with how other artists cobble their lives together and what kinds of spaces they use.

If you feel drawn to make things outside of digital, the process is rewarded here which is truly an incredible paradigm shift! It's changed so much for me even when I was making less than $1 a post (for many many months), I found that the process of sharing my work taught me something.

I like your "ramblings", always ramble here :-)
And thanks for the thoughtful comment and support!

That close-up of the carving in the final image is so beautiful - amazing to see the detail and different depths in there. You're obviously all working hard in the studio, thank you for sharing this insight :-)

Thank you @alice-is, I am so excited about that carving too....:-)))

Thanks for the look behind the scenes. That view of the water really opened up with the new dimensions. How do you decide the shape and sizes of the little mosaic pieces when there's a uniform area, like in the dog's face?

good question @haphazard-h-stead, I use the shapes of the tile to define and give character the forms I'm creating, almost like shading while sketching. With the dog's face, those shapes feel just like the planes of a French Bulldog's face for example.

also, I don't know how far away you are but consider joining the portland steemit meet up I just posted about!!

I got behind in answering comments, but I wanted to say thanks for explaining about the shapes of the mosaic pieces in filling out an area. Thinking about the planes on something makes sense, even for me as a non-artist! PDX = Yes! :D

Its always so interesting for me to watch the process of the creative work and this post is simply fantastic! Thanks for share ^_^

thank you so much @silviabeneforti, you know I'm a fan of yours too :-))

I feel your frustration when changes out of your control happen. Nice of the contractor to wait so long to change the dimensions...I enjoyed the visit to your studio.

@cecicastor, thanks for your support

Absolutely fantastic @natureofbeing. Like some of the others commenters have already said it's fantastic to see inside your studio and get a glimpse in to the making process. Keep up the great work and can't wait to see what else you produce in the near future 🙂

thank you @the189, I always love to see other's studios as well and thanks for your support!

Such lovely work. Thank you for the look inside the studio! Resteeming.

thank you for the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97