You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Look at the Goings On in My Studio Today

in #art6 years ago

Thanks for the look behind the scenes. That view of the water really opened up with the new dimensions. How do you decide the shape and sizes of the little mosaic pieces when there's a uniform area, like in the dog's face?

Sort:  

good question @haphazard-h-stead, I use the shapes of the tile to define and give character the forms I'm creating, almost like shading while sketching. With the dog's face, those shapes feel just like the planes of a French Bulldog's face for example.

also, I don't know how far away you are but consider joining the portland steemit meet up I just posted about!!

I got behind in answering comments, but I wanted to say thanks for explaining about the shapes of the mosaic pieces in filling out an area. Thinking about the planes on something makes sense, even for me as a non-artist! PDX = Yes! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43