Red White and Black

in #art5 years ago (edited)

35ala9ctod.jpg

So I'm wrapping up another semester here with my final portrait. As I mentioned last post, I'll try to keep these up. This one is probably one of my least favorites this time around. I really was having a hard time finding something I wanted to paint, but I settled on this image. I also made a close up...

neia0jv3nd.jpg

As well as a process gif

godt9ui07m.gif

This painting spent a lot of time in the "ugly" phase. All the way to the point to where I was wondering if it would ever get out of that point, but it eventually did. It's still not one of my favorites but eh, progress not perfection I guess.

Thanks for looking peeps!

Sort:  

What a fantastic facial expression, @midlet! Truly wonderful!!!

Thanks as always @trincowski!

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @midlet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.248 which ranks you at #2625 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2627).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 385 contributions, your post is ranked at #25.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Wow, fantastic portret

I think finding something to draw can be very frustrating, but I think you chose a great image !

I don't see why it is your least favourite, @midlet :O It is so beautiful~ Love the progress shots and also the final picture is very lovely <3

Thanks @veryspider! :) There's just a lot of little things that bug me. It's hard to put my finger on, but yea I was a bit meh about it. I'm glad you like it though 😁

another good one.
the hands for me feel weird not sure why, maybe because i feel like with them the down part of the body is missing. feels like it looks better cropped
portret.jpg

Thanks! Hmm, yea I could see that, the hands are a big focal point taking attention away from the face, then there's not much of a payoff there since I left them pretty simple.

only thing i could draw/paint is a stickman so in my photographic mind i expect a body :D the black could be some kind of dress, maybe if it had some details.
i do like this rough but somewhat detailed style (i am sure it has a name :D )

you are great
very good art

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations @midlet! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 22000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79