Mad as a Hatter - original art by @merej99 and accepting 2 challenges in the month of NovembersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

It's probably true in my case!

Mad as a Hatter by Meredith Loughran, art, watercolors, sketch

Here he is - The Mad Hatter!
This is my very first attempt at watercolors since high school art class.
Sadly, it's not on proper paper so it is curling a bit.


Today marks the official start of NaNoWriMo, though I was up last night - or rather - this morning until about 3 am getting some writing done and hanging out in my new Chat Nano Florida:Elsewhere room.

It was kind of cool that 2 of my Elsewherians were there.

Thank you, Nikki & Kay
Naw, they're not on Steemit
and being a municipal liaison, I can't really be promoting Steemi
when they need to focus on their book.
It would be a conflict of interest.

Mad as a Hatter by Meredith Loughran, art, watercolors, sketch

This is the initial sketch traced in marker.
I was just starting to add a little watercolor.

So... Why am I Mad as a Hatter?

Well, not only am I participating in one of the most challenging writing contests on the planet, I decided to join @poeticsnake in her 30 days of drawing.
She posted her whole drawing schedule for the month!

Read her post here

I am nowhere near that organized. In fact, the only reason why I drew the hatter was because it seemed appropriate. I have no idea what's in store tomorrow!

As for writing...

I've managed to get over 1300 words done and I'd like to write more before I head to bed.


Mad as a Hatter by Meredith Loughran, art, watercolors, sketch

I am quite pleased with some of the details, like his eyes and his hat.


What have you challenged yourself with this month?

Mad as a Hatter by Meredith Loughran, art, watercolors, sketch

And here I am posing with the final piece. Maybe I should call it "Self Portrait"?


This is a 100% STEEM POWER post.

Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated.

Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page

witchy merej99
Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape
merej99 is verified by Steem-verify

Sort:  

THANK YOU @virtualgrowth
You are very much appreciated and thank you for your hard work and dedication to the community. XOXOX

love the colors and the whimsy - a pic a day is a good challenge. I wrote a story a day for a year based on Andy Meisner's prompts on Storypraxis. I now have an archive :)

Story prompts sound like a brilliant idea. Once NaNoWriMo is finished, I may challenge myself to short horror pieces for 30 or 60 days. Those are extremely fun, but I plan to make a compilation book and market it more as Horror by the Campfire. It brings back memories of trying to scare the hell out of each other when we were camping - and then we'd jump with every strange noise once the lights were out. :) Good times

Very Artistic!

Thank you @anns
It was fun to do but I think if I try the hatter again, I may try to actually go a little crazy with it :)

beautiful friend @ merej99 congratulations for the new technique

I'm addicted to all the art supplies now. I don't know what to do with half of them but I just know that I want them. LOL Thanks for stopping by @jlufer :)

I do love anything Alice related!

Me too!
Have you finished your Alice through the looking glass series?
I very much enjoy those.

I never finish anything, they may be revisited.
Edit: I finish cake. I meant art- I never say I've finished a certain subject, always open for future exploration.

ROFLMAO! I'm more of a box of cookies kind of girl. I'm trolling for some really cool macrophotography to draw for tomorrow's challenge. @runrudy - where are you when I need you???

I love your mad hatter! Question : I put in the application on Friday for to be steem varified, they said they recieved my application, but i havent heard back yet, How long does it take lol !? Thanks ♨👌✌♨

I'm probably not a good person to ask because I went through the same thing and waited about a week....then popped into chat to say hello and got it immediately afterward. LOL
I'm sure they're back-logged but definitely inquire kindly in the chat room. They're good eggs. :)

Ok no problem! I just asked because I know your varified, its no biggie i just didnt think it would take so long lol! Thanks for letting me know! Steem on! ♨👍♨

I did like you lol! And went to chat, had to find spot in chat , but got a quick response and am now varified ! Yippee! Check it out! I tinted a slight turquoise blue when i was in gallery ! Is it ok?

It's beautiful!
It's official now. You are sparkly and verified!
Time to dance and celebrate. LOL

Haha! Lol! Im glad you like my little added touch! I wanted it to be just a bit different but keeping the steemit blue in mind! And that girl danceing reminds me of a younger me! Lol! Wish i had that kind of energy again! Lol! Thanks it made my day! 😉👍

the thumbnail made his hair look like spread legs, making the picture look like some surrealist art of spread legs with eyes where bits should be. I'm sharing that thought with you in Solidarity of Crazy. Shine on!

BWAHAHAHAAAA! You made me look, dammit!
That would be a little crazy to have eyes where our bits should be. Gives new "meaning" to I see you coming! LOL

that's a weird term, isnt it? If people are fucking, they are pretty damn close, how can they be 'coming'? "I'm coming!" "Where'd you go? Who were you thnking of?!"

LOL
We are warped aren't we?

<3 <3 Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66149.79
ETH 3275.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71