Dia de los Muertos - original art - @opheliafu this is your #NameInLights

in #art8 years ago

Day of the Dead

Dia de los Muertos

A Mexican holiday celebrated between November 1 & 2, which is not to be mixed up with All Saints Day, which is a catholic tradition.

Dia de los Muertos by Meredith Loughran
Look opheliafu - I even drew my first rose!


The Mexican tradition is that on October 31st at midnight, the gates of heaven will open up allowing the deceased spirits of the children to be reunited with their families on November 1 for 24 hours. The adult spirits have their opportunity on November 2nd. [citation]

It is believed that happy spirits will bring the living family good luck and protection, which is why many families create special altars adorned with a lot of food and drinks; toys and candles are for the young spirits, often smokes and booze for the adult spirits.

Because it is a celebration of life, Dia de los Muertos is not a morbid holiday by any stretch of the imagination.

Oftentimes, this is the time of year when families come together so the generations may celebrate their dead relatives.

Okay, so maybe you don't like hanging out in the cemetery. I've personally never had a problem with it. I especially love really old cemeteries. There is so much history and mystery there!

November 2, the families gather at the cemetery to spend the day there. They picnic, play games, or clean the tombs.

What's with the colorful skulls?

From what I've found, the colorful skulls is a modern tradition. The genus is from the 17th century when sugar art was brought to the New World by Italian missionaries. [citation]

Mexico is sugar-rich and they were taught sugar art and quickly adapted it to their style and tradition.

The plethora of available colors is used to decorate the sugar skulls in folk art tradition and often placed on the family altar or the tombstone.

If you think about it, the Day of the Dead is really a celebration of life.

Dia de los Muertos by Meredith Loughran
Initial pencil sketch


@opheliafu

This is your #NameInLights

This segues beautifully into the my inspiration - the person and her art.

@opheliafu is so open and giving of her art and heart. She really loves Steemit and it shows through her work.

From trips with Alice through the looking glass, to fun and inspirational words, she engages the community with her aura. Oh, and if you didn't already know it, she's Steem cat approved. LOL.

It's been a while since I've seen her posing with her art, but visit her post: Engage with Steemit because your words paint a picture and put a real face to her work.

She has helped me awaken the love that I have for drawing and color...things that I have put aside because, well, life.

Sometimes I look at her finished pieces, especially the mixed media, and go, Man, I wish I could do that!

But she's really been a guide by answering my questions about technique, supplies, and just being supportive.

It's hard to believe that I haven't had my own sketch pad for over 20 years! But I do now - and that is in large part because she's just amazing and I'm so glad she is part of my Steemit life.

Dia de los Muertos by Meredith Loughran
Starting to add some color now


Now, I've always been a fan of folk art of all cultures, but the cheerful colors of Mexican art is one of my favorites.

When @opheliafu began drawing skulls, I was compelled to research, practice, and draw one to dedicate to her.

Some of her skulls:

Don't Lose Your Head
Say Hello to Madame Autumn!
Thar she blows! It’s Talk Like A Pirate Day
Hello Monsieur Daisy!

I simply couldn't pick a favorite one!

Dia de los Muertos by Meredith Loughran
And here I am posing with the final piece. I hope I've done her justice.


Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated. Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page

Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape


Wall of #Steemit love:

Name in peppers by @papa-pepper8bit avatar by @williambanksBeautiful art by @poeticsnake
Meredith Loughran sharing knowledge bombs, humor and life stories on SteemitRequest your own verification badge @ Steem.chat

Follow Meredith Loughran on Twitter & SnapChat or LinkedIn

Sort:  

Thank you, @neoxian It was fun to draw...not so much fun to color with my limited supplies.

Simply beautiful congratulations

Thank you @jlufer - that makes my heart sing :)

I love hanging around with ghosts, I love this idea of celebrating the dead and love your drawing

Thank you @karenb54! I personally talk to dead people all the time and I think it would be a wonderful tradition to adopt since the western world really doesn't have a day to celebrate the dead beyond the funeral or memorial service.

Ah thank you so much @merej99 ! I love it!

<3

So glad you do! I was inspired :)

I love your drawing, fab rose.
I love the day of the dead, They seem to have a much healthier relationship with death in Mexico than we do here in the UK.

I agree - I think a healthy relationship with the loss of a loved one is a good thing. Of course we miss those who have died, but to celebrate them is a great coping mechanism.
The rose needs work but it's so neat to see how my drawings are progressing. I'm having fun, but it's also very soothing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62847.35
ETH 2464.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64