Duomo Project / First Week of Painting by Matthew Holden Bates

in #art6 years ago

AEF1F439-46C6-43B2-9DF1-24D2AA05DC42.jpeg

Duomo Project / St. Matthew detail / work in progress

It has been a busy week of painting, and this canvas is so big that it feels like I didn’t even make a dent! It is also true that in the beginning of a painting, I have so much work to do, and the end is no where in sight, that it is hard to get extra excited about working. That said, I think that you will begin to appreciate just how important the 18 hour drawing is to this project. It is so much easier to paint a complex idea when all of the blueprint is in place.

D5F77C00-64D4-46C9-A867-2B9559AF5EEE.jpeg

Duomo Project / Week 1 of Painting Process

Since there are three statues in the painting, I wanted to discover who they represent. I was very happy to find out that the first sculpture is of Saint Matthew, the guy I was named after 😉 It was hard to find out, the internet had no info at all, so I went back to the Duomo and took a 30x camera and zoomed up to see the inscription. It read St. Mattheus, which is odd because that isn’t Italian or Latin, it seems more German.

BF2B05FF-EE48-4DB1-981F-58F2198C553C.jpeg

Duomo Project / wip

You may be wondering about the colors. I like to layer, or glaze my paintings, so the colors you see now may not remotely be the final colors when the painting is finished. Right now I am focusing on the initial filling in of the facade, and partial rendering of the statue. It is important to let each layer dry, so right now I am working on getting the first layer in onto the canvas.

If you are new to my blog, this is the making of my latest painting, in real time. If you would like to see how it turns out, follow me on Steemit @matteopaints to get all the latest news on this project! It has been a very different experience so far knowing that it all is going to be watched, I usually just paint for a while, and then post the finished painting. Thanks for stopping by and if you like what you see, please give an upvote, and resteems are cool too! As always, your comments are welcome, and I look forward to reading them. Until next time!

Ciao, Matteo😀👨🏻‍🎨🎈

Sort:  

Wow... that is only a tiny part of the whole painting? Unbelievable, Matteo! You're going big, on this one! 😮

Oh yea! This is a monster project🧟‍♂️ Ciao buddy!!😀

Congratulations @matteopaints! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Progress on the Duomo Project ! How exciting :) And such a lovely beginning with the first saint being St. Matthew :D I call that good portents, for sure <3 I can see that you're carving away at a small section of the canvas, and I can't even imagine the feeling of tackling such a huge project, but I think you're doing so well so far <3

The detailing of St. Matthew's alcove is already coming along very promisingly <3

I look forward to the next update <3 <3 <3

Thanks!!!! This is a very big project, but I have made many others like this one, so in a way, I have a pretty good idea about how to do it. Still, it is pretty intense 🤪


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks!!!!!!! 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57949.44
ETH 2349.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44