Multiverse, studies, sketches

in #art6 years ago

As I was browsing through my archives, I stumbled upon some studies, which were the basis for a series called 'Multiverse' (I posted about this series of paintings last year, check this out if you're interested, and be sure to give a shout-out in the comments if you actually remember these or if you wish to see more of them!).

This is the finished 'Multiverse', a world in which everything is possible and all things/creatures/... are connected to each other - they can be connected in time, in space, in name, chronologically, ultradimensionally, etceterary, ... you know... All is possible here.

universe_I_grid_.jpg

And here are some preliminary sketches, ideas and build-up to the finished painting. I may use this kind of world-building as a starting point for a possible new interactive story, where elements are connected to each other in weird and wonderful ways - give me some time, and let me know if you enjoy these. Thanks!

Rough sketch, trying out some ideas, some good, some not so good, but hey, it's a study:

This is closer to the finished painting, most of the ideas are in place and ok to go. I even used a photo, but it wouldn't fit visually in the finished painting:

A string of creatures. I liked the idea, but had no place for them in the end:

A couple of creatures, which didn't make the final cut of this Multiverse, but I stuck with the idea and they made it into a seperate painting of their own eventually:

Sort:  

Really interesting. I like the amorphous nature of the creatures. They’re sort of creepy while also looking kind of sad. Thanks for showing the process.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you, and my pleasure! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks, always appreciated! :)

It's interesting to see how an artist works :)

Thank you! Yeah, this is the stuff that usually doesn't get out, glad you appreciate it :)

Love your paintings, @marty-art :) Your style is so unique * ___ *

Thank you! :)

Whoa really awesome artwork 🌌 @marty-art!
I've always thought of it being multi, like
perhaps soap bubbles, new ones, old ones,
clusters and voids, patterns and folds :-)

Thanks, and that's a cool interpretation of it. Always nice to read some different views on on, thanks!

Oh I love these... and I'm a bit shocked... I do recognize some of the motives but I had not seen this before!!!

Indeed, that's exactly what I would say though: AMAZEBALLS!

Thanks! :D

Whoa, it feels like i'm flying onto your drawings, it really gives me chills.

Nice, thanks! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63562.42
ETH 2649.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77