Last Night #4 - zombies painting series: 1 A.M - 2 A.M.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

What would a night be like when a zombie-invasion actually happened? What would you do? What would I do?

After playing the game "Last Night on Earth" - a zombie survival boardgame - I was so hooked on the game that I was inspired to make a series of paintings depicting the terror and sense of dread of a zombie invasion.

So I made a painting for every hour from 7pm to 7am and how that night would feel like. This is how I envisioned the first - and last? - night on earth in my paintings. I appreciate any and all (relevant!) comments, upvotes and resteems, thank you!

You can read episode one: prologue - 7 pm - 8 pm here.
You can read episode two: 9 pm - 10 pm here.
You can read episode three: 11 pm - midnight here.

Read about the bonus below!

Episode four.

Enjoy. Or be afraid.

Last Night: 1 A.M.

I was on my way to the town, when I found myself surrounded by roamers. I ate a clove of garlic and somehow they lost track of me. I always knew garlic was good and healthy stuff, but I didn't know it would help me in a zombie-assault. Anyway, I'm out of garlic and I need to find either shelter or supplies to make it through the night.

I knew the town wasn't very far from George's house, and I wasted no time running through his fields. Is George following? I don't know, and I really don't want to know - he's turned into a flesh-eating zombie. Poor George. My goal was to reach Steve now. He and his wife, Lynn, live in an appartment which could be safe. I reached the outskirts of town fairly easily and saw a house with the front door open. I risked going in to find supplies, but as I rummaged through the drawers to find anything useful, I must've made too much noise. In the blink of an eye, I was surrounded by hissing, bloodthirsty zombies."

I had to smash some skulls - I hope it was the right thing to do - barricade and hide myself and I stayed quiet for half an hour, until the things trying to eat my brains lost interest and wandered off.

It was tense. In complete darkness, in a stranger's house, with hordes of murderous mutants, I tried to find my way out. It's a good thing I know the town fairly well by night, as well as the way to Steve's appartment. We spent a whole lot of nights in a whole lot of pubs here, so I knew the way by heart. But it would be all or nothing - in my mind his appartment was my last stand to survive.

I made my way through the streets, moving as silently as possible, ducking in allies, holding my breath when I saw roamers. Then I saw the appartment. The faintest of light seemed to be coming from behind the window. I made a run for it.

WHIZZZ!

Last Night: 2 A.M.

I knew that sound. That was a bullet. Shotgun Steve just shot at me, for fuck's sake! I started waving my arms, got out the flashlight and made an S.O.S. signal in morse-code. The window went open and I heard Steve's voice calling: "Who are you and what're you doing in my backyard?"

I shouted: "Steve, it's me! Let me in, I'm okay" and Steve replied with "Hush" and

WHIZZZ!

another one of his silenced bullets swooped by and hit a zombie next to me right in the head.

"Come on up, quickly!", I heard Steve mumble. Lynn opened the door and I got in. Finally a safe haven, I thought as I fell down into their couch.

When I got to my senses, Steve showed me the situation from his balcony. It looked desperate.

It was 2 A.M. and we had nowhere to go.


Are you afraid? Intrigued? Fascinated? Wondering what the night will bring?
Episode 5 continues the story, going from 3 a.m. to 4 a.m.... coming tomorrow! Thanks for reading & watching!

Bonus: if you read the previous episode and comments: I took a quote from every one of the comments of the previous episode and integrated them in this episode: "Is George following?" by @deemarshall.

I will try do the same for the next episode. So, leave a (creative) comment and see how your comment gets written in Episode 5 (coming in roundabout 24 hours) Thank you!

Sort:  

are those vampire zombies... i mean because of the garlic repellant... heh

Let's not be a "glass-half-empty" person - It's already 2AM and we're in a safe place. Sounds like more than we could have hoped for. Steve is obviously armed and dangerous... just friggin sit tight!

But I already know... they will come cracking down the door next, won't they...

damn vampire zombies!

makes my day to see this get some @curie attention! Kudos @marty-art

Yep, it looks like we're safe... for now..

And yeah, vampire zombies, it was @deemarshall who came up with that twist, haha :D

Makes your day? Mine also! :) Thanks, man!

But I am fascinated, of course :) The aerial shot painting is really ethereal in a scary and wicked way (old meaning of the word). Now I'm wondering if we are trapped in Steve's place or will we find a way out to safety?

Thank you! Wicked is good in my book :)

Find out in episode 5 (which may not come this evening, but soon anyway!)

I love zombies too, highschool of the dead, walking dead. All the works. Cool story!

Thanks @mickolas13, I think I'll have to wrap up this story soon though - I have only 2 paintings left (and I can't produce them as quickly as I can write, haha). Thanks for commenting!

Gosh! This is perfect!!
I am really intrigued by what will happen now-how and when do they escape? What's the plan-they can't stay in the apartment forever-they need a plan.

Thank you @thetruthbomb, much appreciated!

What's the plan? Yes, we definately need a plan... Find out in episode 5 (which I may not be able to write this evening, but soon!), thanks for following! :)

Awesome stories! I LOVE your paintings, they're so incredibly spooky!

Thanks @lenadr! Very much appreciated, more coming soon (possibly this evening, may be later...)
Thanks again!

Congratulations @marty-art! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome art.You deserve for vote.Please check my post.

Thank you @head10, much appreciated!

Really intrigued by your your art and storyline! Never was much of a fan of zombies and the like, but you have given me an interest in it.
By the way, your website is cool and love the look of your studio, much the same as mine was!
Waiting for your next development!

Thanks! I'm not a fan the gory-type zombies either, but the slow-paced, anxious, never-know-what's-gonna happen, terror intrigues me. I hope it shows in this series :)

Thanks for checking my website too!

Yes, it shows!! Great site!

Looks amazing! I love how it's painted like it was toned. Brilliant!

The paintings are wonderful. They caught my eyes and I just fell in. I am intrigued by zombie literature.

Thanks! New episode is up, a few more to follow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42