Last Night #2 - zombies painting series: 9pm - 10pm

in #art7 years ago

What would a night be like when a zombie-invasion actually happened? What would you do? What would I do?

After playing the game "Last Night on Earth" - a zombie survival boardgame - I was so hooked on the game that I was inspired to make a series of paintings depicting the terror and sense of dread of a zombie invasion. So I made a painting for every hour from 7pm to 7am and how that night would feel like. This is how I envisioned the first - and last? - night on earth in my paintings. I appreciate any and all (relevant!) comments, upvotes and resteems, thank you!

You can read episode one: prologue - 7 pm - 8 pm here

Episode 2: 9pm - 10pm.

Enjoy. Or be afraid.

Last Night: 9pm

I chose to go over the fields, while it's still a bit light. Unfortunately, where I live, the fields are huge. My nearest neighbour, George, lives 4 miles away. I wanted to make a call but all the lines are dead somehow. It was plaguing my mind: what had been happening? Somehow there wasn't a living soul around, and the few things resembling humans had become grotesque, horrible scavengers with their only intent to attack, grab and eat me.

I needed protection, food, drinks - something strong, preferably - and light if I would want to make it through the night.

I knew George had a shack containing all that and I was heading for it.

I saw seven, maybe eight roamers circling the shed, but I was fast enough to get to it and collect everything I needed for now: an axe, a flashlight, some biscuits that expired previous spring, and George's whisky. I took a big gulp. George wouldn't mind and I'd buy him a brand new bottle anyday. "This is amazing" I thought. And then they entered the shed...

I couldn't get out. They were slow, but determined, the first one grabbed my arms, the second my chest, with the third and fourth approaching. I smashed one's head with the whisky bottle, wrestled myself free and brought down the axe on the second one. It wasn't pretty but I had to do it.

I figured that would've been enough for the others to back down, but they kept coming - I started shouting: "Don't make me do this, you'll regret it! " but it was to no avail. They kept coming nearer, hissing, attacking and I made the axe come down again, twice, again, again, and I stood in their blood when it was over. I had no choice.

I quickly left the shed and headed for George's house. Would he be home? Would he let me in? I thought the unthinkable... Could George have turned into one of those roamers? I dismissed the thought and paced on.

Last Night: 10 p.m.

The house was deserted, but the back door was open. I had to make a choice - call out to George and risk getting those roamers on my neck, or sneak into the house and risk an axe on the back of my head. I called out. There was no answer. There wasn't a living sould around downstairs, so I headed up, calmy calling out George's name. Nobody upstairs either. Then I heard some stumbling down the stairs and went back, "George, are you there man? I've been looking for you, what the fuck's going on, man? "

Down the stairs was George. With his brother and his son. But they didn't look alive. And they had their eyes on their prize: my flesh.

I was trapped.

Are you afraid? Intrigued? Fascinated? Wondering what the night will bring?
Episode 3 continues the story, going from 11pm to 1 am... coming tomorrow! Thanks for reading & watching!

Bonus: if you read the previous episode and comments: I took a quote from every one of the comments of the previous episode and integrated them in this episode ("plaguing my mind" by @deemarshall and "This is amazing" by @stanhopeofficial). I will try to do the same for the next episode. So, leave a (creative) comment and see how your comment gets written in Episode 3 (coming in roundabout 24 hours) Thank you!

Sort:  

Are all of those paintings done by you? Interesting way to tell a story :)

If they're all original, I want to nominate it for @ocd:

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thank you! Yes, all paintings are original artwork by me.

I gladly accept you using these to post in OCD, following!

Hey you made the compilation post! Do check out @ocd's latest issue.

Hey, thanks, man! Much appreciated!

good post! ahah @hassanabid you are one of those commenting positive but not voting... people are bots sometimes or u r bot

how could a bot post related to the content ? :D

well if you really think catch me up on facebook :)

https://www.facebook.com/adventurous.hassan

Thanks @deearchi, much appreciated! I really should be flagging @hassanabid, I guess. Awaiting his reply that'll never come I guess :D cheers!

@marty-art you´re awesome

I like this painting. It reminded me a bit of Escher's impossible stairs. Great, scary technique! The door at the bottom saves it with the upturned zombie faces.
I want to know the vulnerabilities of these blood lovers. Can I protect myself, maybe by eating something like garlic? Yes, I'm fascinated!

W00t, awesome! Will definately make for a twist in the story and have some impact! Thank you!

Great work, looking forward to seeing more. Upvoted and following.

Thank you, hopefully every evening (here), I'm guessing about 6 more of these episodes (it depends on the paintings I've made) :)

Great stuff and great vibe! I love it!

Always a pleasure! :) Just keep the creepy stuff coming! :)

Thank you for your comment and HUGE button there, it looks impressive, where'd you get that? And have you actually read my story in under a minute (and commented as well?) Then thanks. I'm taking over 3 to comment, but yeah, for the sake of the story I'll include "horrer" in episode 3. There you go.

actually pix are looking horrer :)

Fair enough, thank you!

some times pictures will teach the whole post :D

But not this post, I spent a couple of hours crafting a story here, and will do tomorrow and the day after, and after... But it's ok, really, thanks, I appreciate it you enjoyed the paintings :)

Congratulations @marty-art! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40