"Human Nature" | Gallery: Motifs

in #art6 years ago

I've mentioned before that @welshpixie and I did a few dIFS pongs before we started our current series.
 
Well, this was #09 in that series =) ... A very simple formula setup, with GearsIFS and KnotsIFS (with PolyfoldingIFS as the transform formula)
 
Why "Human Nature"? ... Well, I saw the shell part as nature-made, and the gears as human-made. Simple as that. We humans have always had this tendency to invent things in order to overcome or "improve" upon nature...
 
In the last few years though, biomimicry in tech has become a thing, and is getting quite exciting, actually. I recommend you google it! ^^



Human Nature

~~
Gallery: Motifs
Max. Print Size: 28" x 28"



“Biomimicry is innovation inspired by nature. In a society accustomed to dominating or 'improving' nature, this respectful imitation is a radically new approach, a revolution really. Unlike the Industrial Revolution, the Biomimicry Revolution introduces an era based not on what we can extract from nature, but on what we can learn from her."

-- Janine Benyus

There are three types of biomimicry - one is copying form and shape, another is copying a process, like photosynthesis in a leaf, and the third is mimicking at an ecosystem's level, like building a nature-inspired city.

-- Janine Benyus



The Creation Process:

 
As I said, this was part of a dIFS pong series. The Mandelbulb 3D image I worked off of was "Space Slug" by @welshpixie:

The problem is, back then, I wasn't in the habit of taking progress screenshots, so I have no idea how I got to Human Nature from that, hehe.

This is what I said in the description of my DeviantArt post at the time:

This time, I used a texture. I also got rid of HexIFS - it wasn't playing nicely with the other formulae =P - and added GearsIFS.

Not very informative, I know... But here is a screenshot, at least, of Mandelbulb 3D with the parameters rendered, just to prove that it really is my work ;P ...:

Again, I'd really recommend you go and do some reading about biomimicry... It's very exciting when you start picturing a future in which we all live in harmony with nature by trying to meld all aspects of our lives with her, instead of doing what we've always done... That is, live and progress in conflict with her, exploiting her resources.




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Deepspace" - Gallery: Motifs | "Lovecycle" - Poems, 017 | "Sporangia" - Gallery: Fine Art
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All images copyright, @mandelsage - All rights reserved.

Proud member of:


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67519.16
ETH 3532.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68