"Edifice" | dIFS Pong with @welshpixie! #005

in #art6 years ago

How endlessly frustrating this was! ... With Mandelbulb 3D, sometimes, you just have those days...Days when, no matter how you tweak parameters and camera angles, you can't find anything usable.
 
In the end, though, I managed to produce something I really like. If you've been following along, you'll know that @welshpixie and I are collaborating with a series of dIFS Pongs... This one follows from her "Futurescape".
 
I tried keeping some connection with her piece while still making it very different. I changed the transformation formula from Apollo2D-IFS to Apollo3D-IFS, changed the order of the formulae, and also separated BoxIFS from the other two using DEcombinate mode.

Edifice

~~



What I did:

 
First things first, I loaded up @welshpixie's Pong 004 "Futurescape":

Then followed the frustration as described above... If I were to include all the screenshots I took, and the ones I didn't take when I started getting annoyed, you'd be scrolling for some time... Let these four suffice:

As I said, I swapped out Apollo2D-IFS for Apollo3D-IFS, and changed the order of the formulae. Once I caught sight of the first image above, I knew almost exactly what sort of thing I wanted. Then at last, the fun part, adding colour, for which I used this as a colour map:

If you are feeling inspired, copy these parameters and load them into Mandelbulb 3D using the "from clipboard" button and see what you can come up with =)

Mandelbulb3Dv18{
g....kO1...fB...A....2M...kAOiip4DC7.TYTx.9Tvq8ExueZGIM7H.ovWZFBtq76.Zf13AdHMezj
................................yLSHLmqTUz1........A.Rt8................y.YNaNyD
...Uz6....kZ..../M.0/.....kQ5...P/....E2.....671PNAUVBpD/MUvwp.E..Uy/dkpXo1....U
z.EnAnQD12..2..........wz.................................U0.....y1...sD...../..
.z1...sDtBPry3OotxHOstgVtiTRzm.q2YD4yJmDoGEyLcnKXxXVSEmnF87OzINLwC1JMsrD5AvZLdyj
nxf8MpIPKTfRz45Vyw6R.xqDU...U0oLB/..Ll/.......kD.6....sD..G.....................
.............oAnAt1...sD....zw1...................................E0bQFEA....k1.
.....OD8wz1.........txzzz1EV.I6.T/...w4....C....A/Qm2g1.k9EB....6/...cqy....SFT9
...U.W1KEOwlcichsU3Y2RAe906.2AqzzzSi..UI7TMmL4.k6o0FIhT67.2.QheMHIWlz0U.mwzzgr5.
.s41pmERLz9.H0/bvOorz.U59ywZYy.k/EU0.wzzz1...........M0........./.........E.2c..
zzzz............U/...................2./8.kzzzD............8....................
/EU0.wzzz1...................................2Hg8..E./2Elyk3Uy2../2E.pv5P.eU..2E
./2Qj......E./2EUt1....../2E.3VG......2E./oSJpEYZ/.E./2EA0q40e.../2E.hzOFoq2..2E
./Yfrh0nH/.E./2E...cU08czz/cU08cyz1cU08cxz3cU08c................................
E6...AE.W6E.....I....c....EEkx4PgxqA2pGG4B3..............................MU/46..
..........EnAnAnAnApzoAnAnAnA1yjyHBSdPGAoz1........0./.......0/k.......UH.2.....
...4.BoWgRyyd4vjqibwk0pOuyPCoWgRyydoz...........................................
.....................2.....3....D....AJNVB5OZl4P.kKG4B3.........................
.sU1.sU..MU/4............................z1........qz0..........................
..............xD........................................c.YNaNaNaNatzAnAnAnAnAwD
aNaNaNaNKz1........wz.........../....E/...E1....Wx4S7NoI.k4.jRLNm/..............
..............U1C....2U.02E.....BnAnAnAXU.InAnAnAnAzzoAnAnAnAnzDbNaNaNaNozHnAnAn
AnA/.fNaNaNaNc/knAnAnAnAN.A...................................................zD
........kzXNaNaNaNapz.........zD............}
{Titel: newpong05_big_shadows01_refl}




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Mutual Need" - Poems, 009 | "Amortvoir" - Gallery: Fine Art | Colouring Contest! 1st Prize 3SBD - "Almëa Galadriel"
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All Images, Creative Commons License.

Sort:  

Stunning! I love the resolution, lighting, reflections, shading and depth of field on this one. Gives it a realistic touch. I may have to copy these params and mess around with it as well. I also haven't forgotten about the message I've been meaning to send you. Just been crazy busy :)

Thank you, man =) Yeah, I really want to play more with making "realistic" looking renders.
Looking forward to the message =) .. I've just finished a mandala actually, will be posting in a bit.

Please do give these params a go! ^^

Thank you for this wonderful post @mandelsage

Cooool! Looks like a shaggy carpet :D :D

Aaannndd, it looks like alien grass with a mysterious, different-species-of-alien edifice on it... ;P

We recommended this post here and here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts, reply with STOP.

You've received an upvote from a @slothicorn! Neigh neigh! Click here to learn more! (@justatouchfey) ((.)ω(.))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48