"Dragonstone" | Gallery: Motifs

in #art6 years ago

Here be monsters... Or more specifically, dragons ^^
 
I tried something different today =)

 
What a mission though! The colours just wouldn't play along. I only used 3 layers, but every time I combined one set with another, the mandala as a whole didn't look right.
 
After some persistence and a few breaks, I eventually got it. I took about 7 hours all in all.



Dragonstone

~~
Gallery: Motifs
Max. Print Size: 28" x 28"



Draco: Who's the girl?
Bowen: A nuisance! Get rid of her.
Draco: Why?
Bowen: They're trying to placate you with a sacrifice.
Draco: [knowingly] Oh, now whoever gave them that bright idea?
Bowen: Never mind! Just get rid of her!
Draco: How?
Bowen: Eat her!
Draco: Oh, please. YUCK!
Bowen: Aren't we squeamish; you ate Sir Egglemore, hypocrite!
Draco: I merely chewed in self-defense, but I never swallowed.

-- From the movie Dragonheart


The creation process:

 
So, I started by loading up my usual mandala formulae and playing around with the parameters... There were many pretty potentials but I didn't want anything too similar to previous mandalas. Here are a few examples...:

Eventually I found this! (image on the left). Those claw like structures immediately put a dragon in mind... I already had a title, in fact... Dragonshrine ... But then, I had the bright idea of adding an orb into the mix, using MB3D's decombinate mode (otherwise the orb would have been divided up into the mandala spikes too):

Next came the colouring process... As I mentioned, it was difficult. I used one of my favourite images for a the diffuse colour map...:

... and then had to combine setup after setup of colours in layers in Photoshop until eventually I was happy with it.

Finally, I added some reflection to the orb, as well as the same image above but with 'wrap2' mode (which pastes the actual image as a texture instead of using it as a colour map):

I'm quite excited because in the midst of all this, I found another pattern in the fractal with which I could probably make an awesome dragon's egg. Watch this space! =)



Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Creature" - Poems, 013 | "Factory" - dIFS Pong 013 | "Me, Myself and Alcohol"
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All images copyright, @mandelsage - All rights reserved.


Proud member of:


Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40