"Creature" | Poems, 013

in #poetry6 years ago

Creature

 
I smile a warm, clandestine smile,
My body tingling,
My mind adrift,
The surface slightly stirring.
 
The banks are now distant,
The currents, demanding,
All of life, swirling around me,
Little patterns within greater ones,
Worlds within worlds within worlds.
 
No longer will I shy from the system,
And its dangers,
For I now see its inner workings,
And my position in them.
 
Truly, I am now a river creature.

 
divider.jpg



Most of you probably know that feeling when you've been in a relationship for a long time, and then you break up, and after going through the pain of getting over it, you gradually start feeling elated.
 
I've been in 3 long-term relationships in my life, including my current one (this time married) and this poem was written between the first and second. I was feeling... free. Happy. Somehow pleased with myself.
 
And perhaps, more mature. More master of my own fate. Well, what can I say? ... Yes, I was and still am a river creature, as we all are, trying to navigate our way as we approach the mysterious ocean, but damn, I had no idea of the rapids ahead...



Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Pirate's Helm - Gallery: Motifs" | Steemit Communities, The New Alchemists and Myself as an Artist | "Nascentia" - Gallery: Fine Art
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All images sourced from pixabay.com

Proud member of:


Sort:  

This is a wonderful poem; I love it! I have been in 3 long-term relationships as well (2 short-lived marriages and one live-in relationship) - those days are over for me, but luckily I enjoy my own companionship and have a few very dear friends in my life that I treasure. Well done. :)

Thank you ^^ ... Enjoying your own companionship is the key to happiness, they say ;P .. Or at least a sign of it.

beautiful poem 😊

Grazie mille! ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48