"Ashflake" | Gallery: Motifs

in #art6 years ago

Mandala Monday is upon us again!
 
And since I don't have any more previous work mandalas to post, every Monday will from now on bring you a new, freshly-made Mandala =)

 
Such is the case for "Ashflake" ... I actually set out with the intention of making a _snow_flake, and I will get to that in the future, but these colours were just speaking to me today.



Ashflake

~~
Gallery: Motifs
Max. Print Size: 28" x 28"



“All things of grace and beauty such that one holds them to one's heart have a common provenance in pain. Their birth [is] in grief and ashes.”

-- Cormac McCarthy - The Road


The creation process:

 
It's getting late so I'm going to make this brief. I started this with the parameters of Pomegrandala where you can see much of the process I use for making mandalas.

After reaching satisfaction where shape was concerned (above), I started going through images to use as colourmaps, and found this glorious beauty, which gave me the idea for the theme-change as well (from snowflake to ashflake):

The thing is, in Mandelbulb 3D itself, I couldn't settle on any one set of colours as The One. So I saved several large pngs and combined them in photoshop, putting layers on top of each other and making good use of the eraser:

I'm looking forward to doing all sorts of "flakes" ... A snowflake, a glowflake, maybe even a crowflake? o.O ...




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
Colouring Contest! 1st Prize 3SBD - "Almëa Galadriel" | "Edifice" - dIFS Pong with @welshpixie | Does God Know What You're Going To Have For Breakfast?
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All images copyright @mandelsage - All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01