"Pomegrandala" | Gallery: Designs

in #slothicorn6 years ago

Today's Mandala was meant to be citrus-y.
 
I really started out thinking I wanted to make a mandala that looked like the juicy inside of an orange. But with fractals, of course, things almost never go the way you plan them to.

 
Instead of an orange, as I worked through shapes and colours, somewhere along the way, pomegranates came to mind! =) (And the cat faces were completely accidental! ^^)



Pomegrandala

~~
Gallery: Designs
Max. Print Size: 35" x 35"
Art by Jody V. Lawrence_aka_Mandelsage



The Greeks had many myths surrounding the pomegranate fruit. Here is one, quoted from Wikipedia, that explained why the seasons occurred:

"The myth of Persephone, the goddess of the underworld, prominently features the pomegranate. In one version of the myth, Persephone was kidnapped by Hades and taken off to live in the underworld as his wife. Her mother, Demeter (goddess of the harvest), went into mourning for her lost daughter; thus all green things ceased to grow. Zeus, the highest-ranking of the Greek gods, could not allow the Earth to die, so he commanded Hades to return Persephone. It was the rule of the Fates that anyone who consumed food or drink in the underworld was doomed to spend eternity there. Persephone had no food, but Hades offered her a pomegranate and she ate six seeds, so from then on had to spend six months in the underworld every year. During these six months, while Persephone sits on the throne of the underworld beside her husband Hades, her mother Demeter mourns and no longer gives fertility to the earth."


The creation process:

 
Once again, I used a previous mandala's parameters (those of Sundala) to get started. The shapes I found were wonderful, and many of these you see below have been saved for future explorations. It often takes longer than it should to create a piece of art using fractals because I tend to get lost exploring the many beautiful iterations before getting to one that I can use for the purpose I have in mind.

My heart was still set on an orange while tweaking parameters, but then, having found the shapes I liked, while tweaking the colours, I suddenly saw the pomegranate and decided to do an orange another time... =)

And as usual, Photoshop was used to finalise some contrast and colour balance issues.

Hmm... I just thought... I think I might do a whole series of fruit mandalas ^^ ... What is your favourite fruit and would you like to see it as a mandala? =)




Thank you for your upvote 💖
I appreciate it more than can be expressed in one line at the end of a post.

~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Rosa" - Gallery: Designs | "The Woman Who Moved" - Story Writing Collaboration | "Dying With Cats" - An Art Collaboration
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All Images Copyright @mandelsage - All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54