The Persistence of Dalí

in #art6 years ago

Hi Everyone ❤

This post is a continuation of a series of posts I have written about my sculptures Today I would love to share with you my third sculpture and the great artist who inspired me a lot in Art; That‘s Salvador Dalí.

01.jpg

Who is Salvador Dalí ?

Salvador Domingo Felipe Jacinto Dalí i Domènech, 1st Marquis of Dalí de Púbol (11 May 1904 – 23 January 1989), known professionally as Salvador Dalí), was a prominent Spanish surrealist born in Figueres, Catalonia, Spain. Dalí was a skilled draftsman, best known for the striking and bizarre images in his surrealist work. His painterly skills are often attributed to the influence of Renaissance masters. His best-known work, The Persistence of Memory, was completed in August 1931. Dalí's expansive artistic repertoire included film, sculpture, and photography, at times in collaboration with a range of artists in a variety of media.
Source

In 2016, when I started creating my own art, I spent time to research more about the different types of art and leading artists. Before, I had heard about some famous artists, but did not know too much detail about their work or their background. When I came across Dali’s work, I was really impressed by his genial talent, unique character and all his surreal paintings. I loved all his artworks, specially the masterpiece The Persistence of Memory.

02.png
Source

I read everything I could find about him and one of most impressive things from him was a table he created to compare other artists and himself, he gave a score to each artists on the table for various characteristics. In my view, only an unique genius can do this.

03.jpg
(I couldn’t find the source of this pic! I had saved it a while ago)

Creating The Persistence of Dali

One day an idea come to my mind and I sketched it out on my sketch book in the scribble style.The sketch shows Dali’s face melting with his clock. I call it “The persistence of Dali”. I feel that his artwork may have stayed in my subconscious long enough, to inspire this vision.

04.jpg

So when I was thinking about the next concept for my third sculpture, I remembered this idea that I had sketched and decided to make it into a sculpture, so I can touch Dali in 3D and feel a real connection with him and his art. I wanted to make his portrait look like a caricature to make his unique eyes, nose, mouth, beard and hair have more prominence. I feel like everything from him is never ordinary. All his great ideas and concepts come from deep inside his imagination, an expression of his extraordinary character.

These are all the tools that I used to create the sculpture: red clay, rotating platform, bamboo knives and sticks
05.jpg

I used the stick to make the clay more compact, making sure there are no air pockets inside
06.jpg

Then I started to make the general shape of the sculpture.
07.jpg

In the next step,I put more details on the sculpture. Every detail can be modified and may need to be constantly changed to make sure they work together with new details that are added.
08.jpg

The drawing that I was working from only described one perspective; the front view of his face. I continued to work with all other perspectives as I added the details to the sculpture.
09.jpg

When creating the sculpture I felt very happy. Touching clay and creating something that was just an idea from my mind into something that exists in reality is very exciting. My friend captured that joyful moment for me.
10.jpeg

In the final steps, I refined the sculpture with the bamboo knife, using it to smooth the skin and to make the texture on his eyebrow and hair. After I finished the final touches, I let the sculpture dry for about a week. I had to make sure it wasn’t too dry for glazing and casting in the wood oven.
11.png

You can watch the video to see all the perspectives and detail on this sculpture

Before the sculpture was glazed and cast in the oven, I decided to make it thicker so it’s easier to see the face. To be honest, I’m not really happy with the glazed color, but it’s not easy to control the colors as you want due to the process used.

Here is the final sculpture, The Persistence of Dali.
13.jpg

Exhibiting The Persistence of Dali

Luckily my friend suggested my sculptures to the Fine Arts Association, then they select two of them, The persistence of Dali and my fifth sculpture, Born from Stone.
14.jpg

The curator team from the Fine Art Museum in Ho Chi Minh city curated The Persistence of Dali for their exhibition. I feel like some of the seeds I planted on my art journey came to fruition. This gave me a great opportunity to meet and learn from many successful and established Vietnamese artists.
15.jpg

The sculpture, The Persistence of Dali was my expression of admiration of this great artist. It is my way of sending him my gratitude and appreciation even though we are not in the same time and space. I feel very lucky to have found Art and to have the opportunity to pursue my passion. It has ignited a flame that I will carry for the rest of my life.


You can see more of my sculpture in my series here:
FLY WITH ME - A Mind Liberated
MOTHER SEA


Thank you all for taking time to read this post, I hope you enjoyed it. It gives me great joy to be able to share my experiences with you all, exclusively here on the steem blockchain. If you enjoyed reading this, please share it with others by resteeming this post.

@livvu

Sort:  

Hi @livvu!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.149 which ranks you at #8930 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 76 places in the last three days (old rank 9006).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 251 contributions, your post is ranked at #7.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I think he can feel when you touch his face. Luky guy.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Impressive, brilliant works! I don't profess to know a lot about sculpturing, or art for that matter. I guess art for me is a matter of whether I like what I see, whether I can relate to what I see. :-)
I like your sculptures. You are very creative. Best wishes in your exhibition.

Thank you very much @quotes-haven for your encouragement and kind words! I'm glad that you have connection with my sculpture so you like it.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi livvu,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

What a wonderful post, I really like that you wrote about your sculpture creation process, from the inspiration part until the end, complete with a video too :D.
                       
The statue that you created is amazing, livvu, it really belongs to be displayed in a museum.            
                       
Congratulations for your curie vote ^_^.

Thank you so much @scrawly Really appreciate it

Congratulations on exhibiting your sculputures, you seem very proud and happy! You deserve it, from erything I've read and seen you are a true artist at heart and you love what you are doing. And that, in itself is beautiful :)

Thank you very much @wilnonis. I really love doing sculture and I will try my best.

Congratulations @livvu! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

What an amazing sculpture! Thank you for sharing your work on Steemit. ❤

Thank you very much for your great encouragement @aislingcronin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34