Perfection is the Enemy of Good

in #art7 years ago

Perfection is the enemy of good, so said Voltair, and then Casy Naistat who quoted him on one of his videos. I had more or less arrived at a similar conclusion myself in recent times. The main advantage of just getting something done, is that you learn from it. At least if you look back at what you did.

I'm trying to build into my routine of painting, time to also write and post on Steemit. Not just because I want to build a following here, but more so that I find it has been an extremely useful exercise in getting my ideas down in writing and honing them into a cohesive body of thought.

I have loose plans for where I will take this, but for now, I find it very motivating. The process is also helping to tighten up those loose plans I mentioned. I guess, writing here on Steemit is like a sketchbook for my thoughts. These thought sketches will then be referenced for a finished production.

My aim it to do more. Start and finish.


"Dissolve", Leo Plaw, 24 x 30cm, oil on canvas


Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

nothing much to say, just dropping a small Tip! for support :*

Well, I can certainly say thank you! =)

Great insight, waiting for a "perfect" time or situation will inevitably lead to no or very little progress

We're here to do stuff.

Nicely said ...like a sketchbook for thoughts, like ti :) It's funny how things turn being on Steemit, painters become writers also somehow :)

Well, how Steemit currently is, requires painters to commit their thoughts to writing. But some of these other Steem apps that are starting to appear are geared more towards simple images and little text.

I'm not sure how this will play out in the long run. Perhaps the Steemit community will split, those who write and engage with longer articles and those who post short. It may or may not bring a new swath of get rich spammers, posting mindless theft from other sites.

We're all part of one big social media experiment. So there's another note in my sketchbook for thoughts. ;-)

@leoplaw, the truth you said is that we are part of one experiment, but for now I like this experiment. Like in every area of life and creativity there is always good and bad, spam is something that was expected to come. Also bad content and people thinking making easy money. But call me optimist, I believe real and truth content will survive. For me being here is not any more question of money, what drags me to this place every day is energy that flows in sharing thoughts with other members, like here talking to you. So, those were my thoughts :) Have a great Friday :)

I'm here to talk about my art, check out other people's work and discover new interesting things. Hence why I have to manage my time on Steemit, otherwise I don't get any painting done.
And a good weekend to you. :-)

👍...my thoughts as well 🙂

Indeed you practice this! I have always had great respect for your process. It produces results. You're never stuck in one place with what you produce.

I really like the texture and the light in this painting.

Often the imperfections in a work become the defining character that give that work it's energy and uniqueness. They also open a door for the viewer (or reader, or listener) to enter the work with their own interpretation.

I agree! The imperfections, the "mistakes" are how we learn and make the leap to the next level that we would otherwise have not arrived at through planning alone.

I felt to be spoken to.
What you said applies to almost every one, I guess, who puts love, devotion and effort in what he or she works on.

To bring your own work forward by looking at it from different perspectives is what I experience here on this platform. Also I try to avoid botch-ups, which I wasn't so eager about in back than facebook times.

Your artwork is great and pulls me toward it, I felt a glow while watching this peace.

Yes, the sentiment of the quote applies to everyone. With such an engaged community on Steemit, we certainly have the opportunity to hear other perspectives. That's most of the fun of posting. =)
Thank you, glad you like the piece.
I like the Alan Watts quote on your profile.

Looking forward to reading your writing!! And you are always welcome to play with us in the #freewrite challenge :) Here is today's prompt if you are interested https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-12-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-some-change

Thank you! Marianne. I'll look into it. =)

That splash of bubbley yellow is like how my brain was at the beginning and end of today XD I don't know if you were intending it to be like a visualisation for stress though, it's just what mine looks like :) Hope your character is just seeing a cosmos of awesome rather than stress :D

I particularly like the lighting in this one, how it's bright and warm around the colour and then just dark and silhouetty everywhere else.

goatsig

Cheers @ryivhnn! No, not stress, rather awesomeness. I think I had written something different with this painting elsewhere previously. However, I was wanting to get my thoughts out and grabbed this painting, since I hadn't presented it here before.

I'm experimenting with different lighting effects with each work.

Interesting ways, Using Steemit to structure thoughts and as a notebook. Before Steemit I never really blogged or posted at any of the social media around. My passion is collection information, understanding things and none-things in life. Through Steemit I tend to do more research, read up on an even larger spectrum of topics. Steemit therefore triggers me even more in what I really like to do and at the same time it gives me a channel in which I can express whatever I learned and/or know.

I do hope Steemit stays this way. There is a constant pressure from people who want to take the easy way out.

I make a point of only following and upvoting content I find stimulating, rather than being motivated by Steem earnings.

I can't agree more! I also do only manual curating; Lately concentrate on music; But as of today I stroll through they other tags and posts to find some interesting posts that deserves attention and votes.

The same goes for me, manual curating only. Of course I'm focused on visual arts, but I also keep my eyes open for content that is worth upvoting, commenting on and possibly following the author for more great content. My personal feed keeps me entertained. Your posts are part of that. ;-)

Everyone needs a focus; Too many authors and posts generated daily :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57241.75
ETH 2428.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40