Have You Found It?

in #art7 years ago

This time around, I thought I would share with you some of the development process in one of my recent works. I mean recent. I was up to 3am this morning after finishing this, photographing, and preparing it to share it with you all on the social media networks. Of course, Steemians get something a bit more special than the other networks. ;-)

"On The Trail", 30x24cm, oil on canvas

My original intent was only do the drawing below. However I saw the potential to take it further as a painting. There is a bit of imagination that goes into the painting, as the original reference I am working from is black and white, so I have to feel my way with the colours while looking at other references to guide me.

In my later, smaller figurative works, I have been making space for a setting to place the figures in, so the viewer (you!) can create a story for themselves. 

While I do have my own loose ideas of what the story might be, I'm always keen to hear what other people see and think. I enjoy the surprise of other people's creativity when interpreting my works.

What's your story of this work? Let me know in the comments.




Sort:  

That's pure talent! I can't draw stickman with straight lines! The only thing we have in common is that we can stay up till 3am working on something. I'm a software developer (a very shitty one)

Thank you @wick! I understand where you are coming from, I used to be a web developer, so I know how it is staring hours on end at a screen bug hunting, OMG!, is that the time? Web development was only ever meant to cash me up so I could focus on the art. Instead, it ended up being the main thing for years. But a few years ago, I ditched web development once and for all. Its artwork all the way now.

Talent? That's a funny thing. If you don't train it, it amounts to nothing. Practice and lots of hard work will achieve far more than talent. Even Dürer and Da Vinci continued to practice throughout their entire careers. Just as good musicians are constantly practising. Even programmers need to keep sharp otherwise they start to forget things. So you might be off to a better start with drawing than you think. =)

Hi @leoplaw!

You are gifted to paint.
This is a very nice work.
I wish I could draw somethings like you did.
In contrast, art is not my thing.
I m so jealous whenever I see beautiful drawing.

By the way, nice work!
Can't wait to see your second work.

stunning... i like it

Thank you!

The decent nudity is the one that always creates a good story!

Sadly that is something most of the other social networks fail to appreciate. The nude figure has been a part of art and culture since the beginning of humanity and telling our stories.

Leoplaw - What a stunning painting! You have magic in your fingers. I like the lithe portrayal of the lady. I think it is EVE trying to track Adam after he abandoned her!! Great work. Upvoted

Would love to see more posts from you. Following you. Please feel free to follow me and see my posts today if you like interesting wildlife pictures with a story like this one https://steemit.com/portraitcontest/@vm2904/portraitcontest-baboon-reflecting-on-life-entry-1 or https://steemit.com/life/@vm2904/solitude-not-lonliness-a-boon-not-a-bane and
Also travel blogs like this one https://steemit.com/life/@vm2904/visit-to-sarnath-part2-the-tranquil-journey-continues
Please provide your comments, upvote and resteem if you like any of my blogs

Thank you. That is an interesting story you are weaving there. =)

Just like this god looking man is thinking, have I made a mistake by creating them. At least that's how I see it. Great painting!

Do you mean like this? =)

Assholes - God - oops!

Exactly, 😉 😂

So much talent! :) Followed because I want to see more of these. :)

Thank you! It takes me about a week to paint one of these. This one is very fresh, having only been just finished last night. But, it won't be too long for you to wait for the next one. Thank you for following. :)

Awesome painting! Would love to see more of this since I also love art! Upvoted and followed! 😃

Thank you! Following and looking forward to seeing more of your drawings. =)

Artists continue to make important works of art in a wide variety of styles and aesthetic temperament- you are really a great artist !!

Thank you. I'm working on it. =)

Need special eye to see inside this pic
This eye is soul spiritual eye

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63802.69
ETH 3413.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55