Northern Magnolia in SpringsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

This is one of the first floral photos I took back in March of 2012 and the moment I discovered that I love Magnolias as a photographic subject. At the time I lived in Minneapolis, MN and there are only a few species of Magnolia that bloom in that climate the Jane Magnolia being one of the most beautiful that will grow there.

Northern Magnolia in Spring.jpg
Photo by Kelly Anderson shot with the Nikon D5100

Cheers,
@kellyjanderson

If you liked this post, you may also enjoy a few of my other recent posts:

Mount Rainier

Modern midnight oil

Juniper-Hawthorne Rust - Color Challenge: Orange Tuesday

Sort:  

Is that a Japanese magnolia? There are so many different kinds .

I actually don't know what kind it is. It was growing in the front yard of a church a few blocks from my home in Minneapolis. I wish I knew because it is a very pretty flower and I would look for more to photograph if I knew the name.

An amazing blossom :) I doubt if i had a chance to smell one of those :)

Thank you. They are beautiful but don't produce any scent, unlike the large magnolias that grow in more temperate climates which have a strong lemon smell that reminds me of my grandmother's lemon fresh pledge.

I like the ones that smell lemonade then :)

They are so gorgeous! I love when in spring the tree looks like a pinky cloud :D

Yes some of the Janes will literally be covered in blossoms in the spring, and they seem magical.

Very nice photo. We have them here in Georgia as well. Love when they are in bloom.

great shot Kelly , voted , resteemed , and followed

Such an awesome shot and indeed they are such beautiful flowers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60696.93
ETH 2638.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61