Juniper-Hawthorne Rust - Color Challenge: Orange TuesdaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

This rust is a very interesting fungal infection of Juniper trees, that require part of their life cycle to be on hawthorne trees or apple trees. In the spring the fungus fills with water and becomes translucent and jelly like. Their bright orange color and translucence makes them very eye catching and great photo subjects.

Juniper-Hawthorne Rust-2.jpgPhoto by Kelly Anderson shot with the Nikon D5100

Juniper-Hawthorne-4.jpg Photo by Kelly Anderson shot with the Nikon D5100

The daily color challenge is the brainchild of @kalemandra please stop by her page for details.

My name is Kelly Anderson(@kellyjanderson) I primarily photograph #flowers, so if you would like to see flowers in your feed you know what to do. :-)

Cheers,
@kellyjanderson

If you liked this post, you may also enjoy a few of my other recent posts:

Blue Grecian Windflower - ColorChallenge - FridaySkyBlue

White on White Orchid - Blowing out the background

The best photo I ever took with my iPhone

Sort:  

Pls tell me how to join group i need follower help i already voted u would u like to vote me back ty and follow me :( pls iam really poor

What a weird fungus :)

They are one of the more unique and complex fungi in the world.

I never saw them. The first one looks like a octopus and the second like resin. Is it soft and gooey to the touch?

I really love how these look. They generally all start out looking like octopus and some swell to the point of being blobs. I never did touch one so I don't know of they are gooey or soft or not.

I would poke them with a stick :p Gently...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63931.86
ETH 2639.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83