Shiirik pendantsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

This is a digital pencil drawing that... yes, I know it is nerdy - depicts an imaginative iron-age pendant for a imaginative fantasy God called Shiirik. It is made for some magic rules that was (and still is) supposed to be used with the tabletop roleplaying system GURPS.


the female God Shiirik, with the ghastly head of a giant insect.

Here is some more drawings that relate to this fictitious deity.

I think of the Shiirik beast as a hideous failure of evolution; the back being dragged over the ground on reinforced scales. But it is a magical beast too and in the world the dead can give you powers if they are paid in blood. Every bloodshed gives the beast more power and if it gets enough magic power it might get the ability to fly.

The girl defending the young ones killed the beast many years ago and unleashes a maelstrom of magic that killed her. She now resides in the realm of the dead as the God Shiirik with the body of a young girl and the face of the Shiirik beast.

On the copper breast-plate of this Kvinherje, you can see the Shiirik face (Its eyes are the breasts) as these female warriors worship this tragic deity. I made a 3d-model from the image as this warrior was part of a GURPS campaign I made. You can see it here. Frin - another 3D figurine for GURPS roleplaying

Sort:  

Very interesting! I like that digital pencil drawing, it really looks like something out of a museum. Pretty creepy beast, that Shiirik!

Last year an artist group, which I am a member of was to create a "legendary divinity", half animal, half human.. I was the only one, who did a combination with an insect. But with that being a butterfly, my "goddess" is completely friendly!

You did a great job transferring the drawing into a 3D figure. Did you use Blender?

These last years I have been very interested in Mythology and many of the artworks I have made as Katharsisdrill refers to mythological themes.

Here's an example from the Nordic mythology : Odin hanging from the Ask Yggdrasil
And from the Finnish epic poem Kalevala: Kalevala Rune IX - an unfinished sketch

And yes I use Blender. I prefer to use open source software for all my digital creations.

I am also very much into Nordic Mythology. Having lived in Sweden for a number of years and learned the language, I was able to get the gist of Islandic - there are scholarly texts where the writers just assume you know these languages and don't provide translations (the Brothers Grimm, who were not just into Faerie Tales). Academics among themselves, lol.

Nice! I like this consistency in a custom-made world for role-playing. Things like armor made in the image of a god and a mythology of gods, are fleshing out the world making it feel alive. It is a great experience to play in such settings, with DMs that put some effort into creating a good backstory.

Are you currently playing in this GURPS setting or is it a work-in-progress like the magic system you mentioned?

As for the pendant itself, it is very inspired, reminiscent of Assyrian and Mesopotamian amulets.

I do use a lot of time on the world building and it is often quite rewarding for the players but also of course for myself. I just showed the first three Star Wars movies for my youngest girl, and one of the things that really make the slightly banal story work is the consistent work with the universe. Each environment has so many details - the Rancor keeper that cries after his beloved monster dies for example.

I have played a small campaign in the universe, but the monk-game would be in another part of the world altogether and I need to gather the all too busy players, so right now I am mostly working on the magic and making some drawings.

The pendant was mostly inspired by Northern pendants, but I agree, the animal head gives it a middle eastern feel.

Yes, world-building is very fulfilling, indeed. I had created my own campaign setting back in the day, for the Nephlim system, and I had spent hours making it up. But the result was so rewarding for me, and I hope for my players too. I still have the notes, there are so many things that I had planned but never had the chance to play, as our groups stopped meeting.

I also showed the STAR WARS original trilogy to my children (aged 7 & 9), but they seemed to know it better than me. They have seen versions of it in SW: Rebels series, Lego toys and video games, they have read the comics, they have seen the animated versions of the films, they know the saga better than myself!

I like b&W and this look cool here :)

you are welcome :)

Congratulations @katharsisdrill! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @katharsisdrill! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is great, I love it! Not at all "nerdy".
I have an English friend, Bruce Rimmell, who had worked on our joint project called Fernal Garden. He invented a mythology, language and writing for it. (I am trying to persuade him to join Steemit).
You could check the project here: GARDEN OF FERNAL DELIGHTS . there is a book about it, bilingual written in English and the invented language of Fernalese.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15