Frin - another 3D figurine for GURPS roleplayingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blender7 years ago

This figurine was using the model I posted about here: Creating and printing a 3d figurine for roleplaying - as a template. It was an important NPC so I modelled her and had her printet (by @evilhippie).

I think I will publish the figurine as CC-by some day soon on my Diaspora-profile. I have earlier posted another model made for the same game. Look here: 3d-model - Kaituku

Here is the finished print:

And here is the drawing that was used as a reference.


The warrior Frin

Sort:  

Hehe, nice one! I was also thinking about 3d-printing missing Playmobile parts and accessories, or even creating new ones, but once again you are one step ahead. Do you have your own 3d-printer or do you use a 3rd-party service to "print" your models?

I have an ultimaker2 and katharsisdrill used it for this project. So you could say I am the third party in this case :-) I believe a form2 or maybe the new bean from kudo3d would give even better results. Any sla printer really. I am hoping to buy one of these as soon as I have the money for it

Yes, @evilhippie is my printer.

Hi, i read your comment and was thinking, if you maybe want to buy one, did you already look at all the (custom) Playmobile parts on Thingiverse?:

https://www.thingiverse.com/search?q=playmobile

You could make a account there, and start "collecting" the 3d digital models you like, then when you have your 3d printer you have a nice collection waiting in your account to start printing, but be warned it will probably make you want to buy a 3d printer more fast as well :)

3d printing :) !

Upvoted, post and comment.

Thanks for the link, just had a glimpse over there and it is seems very useful site. I also browsed your own posts a bit, good blog you got there -- followed.

I haven't heard GURPs in a long time.

How did her face come out in the printing?

I have long had the idea of printing miniatures for gaming, but you either take forever printing with fine filament, or you lose all detail with large filament.
It would probably be awesome for printing hordes of zombies/goblins/kobolds.

In 2004 they made 4th edition of GURPS so I guess that it is still alive... maybe not kicking. All the new hipster players seem to be more comfortable with the confines of D&D and Pathfinder :)

As for the print it was rather course due to the size and the 3d technique - I am still waiting for @evilhippie to buy a High Detail Resin printer! But it did work well in the game. Custom figurines that actually look like the characters is very evocative. But I think that customisation is the strength of 3d print. If you want to make many goblins some kind of moulds will probably be preferable.

I very much liked GURPs 3, except it was too easy to kill characters.
4 fixed that but broke what made GURPs a good balanced system.

And never much played it much after that.

I never was that much of a rule-person myself even though I mostly am gamemaster. To me it seems that 4th edition has made it a bit more streamlined, but else it is close to the old one. What particular thing is it that in your opinion has been destroyed the balance?

For skills, the two stats INT and DEX are what is needed. in 3rd, they were more expensive and more expensive the higher you bought them.

In 4th, they were linear and the same price as the other two stats.
So it was very easy to write a highly intelligent person with 1 point in lots of skills when that used to be hard, and something you basically had to skew you whole character towards.

There was other things too, but I don't remember now.

Ah, ok - in the character creation, I thought that you meant in the in the combat rules. IQ and DX cost the double of ST and HT, but it is true that it is linear. IQ & DX cost 20 points and that is the cost you had to pay in 3rd edition when you exceeded 15.

So all in all it has become more expensive to buy your character better in these two stats, which I personally think that is a good rule. Better the players has to use more points on skills.

Thanks for the answer!

That's pretty cool stuff, I have to get into 3d printing at some point.

3d is nice

I must have too 3D printer :)

Cool, Following!
Upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16